Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 01:54:51 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitfinex: What does it mean "Invalid order: not enough balance"?  (Read 11778 times)
Elwar
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1251


www.varyon.io


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2013, 01:56:34 AM
 #1

I have plenty of BTC in my Bitfinex trade balance and when I went to sell a few of them I got "Invalid order: not enough balance".

Am I missing something?

I even tried "sell all" to see if it would execute and I got the same thing.

                     ▄▓▓▓▓    ▄▓█▓▄
                  ▄▓██████    ██████▓▄
                ▐████████▓    ▓████████▌
            ▄▓▓▄ ▀██▓▀▀▀         ▀▀▓██▓ ▄▓▓▄
         ▄▓█████▌ ▄▄▓▓██▓▌     ▓██▓▓▄▄ ▐█████▓▄
       ▓███████▀▄▓███████▌    ▐███████▓▄▀▓██████▓
       ▓█████▓ ▓█████████▌     █████████▓ ▓█████▓
               ▀▓████████      █████████▓
     ▄▄             ▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀             ▄▄
    ▓████▓▓                                  ▄▓█████
    ▐██████ ▄▓█▓▓▄▄                   ▄▄▓▓▓▓ ██████▌
     ▓█████ ████████▓▓            ▄▓████████ █████▓
      ▓███▓ █████████▓            ▓█████████ ▓████
            ▀███████▀               ▓██████▀
        ▓███▓ ▓███▓      ▄▓██▓▄      ▓███▓ ▓███▓
        ▓█████▄        ▄▓██████▓▄        ▄▓████▓
         ██████▓      ▓██████████▓      ▐██████
         ▐████▓       ▀▓████████▓▀       ▓████▌
           ▀▀▀    ▄▓██▓▓▄▄ ▀▀ ▄▄▓▓███▓     ▀▀▀
                 ▓█████████  ██████████▄
                 ▓▓██████▓▓  ▀▓██████▓▓
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
.......Social Media.......
██▄▓█████████████████████▓▓▄
▓██████████████████████████▌
███████████████████▓▓▀  ▓██▌
██████████████▓▀▀       ▓██▌
████████▓▀▀      ▄█    ▐███▌
███▓▀        ▄▄▓▀      ▓███▌
███▓▄▄▄   ▄▓█▓         ████▌
████████▓ ▓▌          ▓████▌
█████████▓    ▄       █████▌
██████████▌ ▄▓██▓▄   ▐█████▌
███████████████████▓▓██████▌
▐██████████████████████████
  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄███████████████████▄
██████████████████████▌
██████████████████████▌
████████████     █▀███▌
███   █████        ▐██▌
███               ▐███▌
███               ████▌
████             █████▌
█████▄▄         ██████▌
████         ▄████████▌
██████████████████████▌
██████████████████████▌
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
1537667691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537667691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537667691
Reply with quote  #2

1537667691
Report to moderator
1537667691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537667691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537667691
Reply with quote  #2

1537667691
Report to moderator
1537667691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537667691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537667691
Reply with quote  #2

1537667691
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537667691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537667691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537667691
Reply with quote  #2

1537667691
Report to moderator
1537667691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537667691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537667691
Reply with quote  #2

1537667691
Report to moderator
1537667691
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537667691

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537667691
Reply with quote  #2

1537667691
Report to moderator
sraosha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 10:52:43 PM
 #2

I had this as well on several occasions and with $ as well as BTC. Over several weeks - and never figured out why?

Some times cancelling all orders and re-entering them step by step solved the issue, sometimes (like just now) not.

This is maximum annoying. Need to place my orders and get to sleep…
PirateHatForTea
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 12, 2014, 12:38:18 AM
 #3

Guys, check which wallet your funds are in - there are 3 wallets, deposit (for lending), trading (margin trade) and exchange (buying/selling BTC you actually take delivery for).

The funds you want to use must be in the corresponding wallet or you will get that not enough balance error.

Unlevereged financial instruments acting as a store of value that fluctuate 50% within 10 minutes is perfectly acceptable. I think it should be offered in IRA form to soon to be retirees.
Jonathan_Sterling
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 05:59:20 AM
 #4

Sorry for the huge necro-bump, but I and others had a similar issue, this post is #1 on Google when I search about it, and I finally figured out the solution:

For order type I was using 'limit'. Turns out you have to use 'exchange limit'. That simple (for me at least). Give it a go.
hasmukh_rawal
Copper Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 101


Remonetizing YouTubers via Crypto-commodities


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 04:10:52 PM
 #5

There must be something wrong with the calculation. Bitfinex is a huge site and has a lot of restrictions in it.
We should not use that website unless we are dealing with loads of BTC. If your trading amount is small then try using Bittrex instead of Bitfinex.
For this issue try using a smaller amount than the available balance and then try executing the order.

Marandis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 09, 2017, 11:35:46 PM
 #6

@Jonathan_Sterling you are a legend, that fixed the problem for me!

Use 'exchange limit' instead of 'limit'.  Smiley
dougie80
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 05:52:58 AM
 #7

Hi that exchange limit does not appear in my bitfinex I am trying to create a OCO sell order above my limit buy but it says insufficient balance why should this matter if the OCO sell orders are to cancel the pending buy order? Am i going about this the wrong way? Thanks for any pointers.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!