Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2024, 02:11:08 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CCMiner/MPH configuration help - Linux  (Read 149 times)
ecocurrency (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2018, 05:59:25 PM
 #1

I am working on setting up my configuration files for a linux application of ccminer.  It runs fine when I run single algorithm from the command line, so I know the program is installed correctly and operational.  I am trying to follow the Mining Pool Hub (MPH) instructions to create a batch/sh file with all of the algorithm outlined so MPH and ccminer can do their also switching thing.  I've created a sh file and entered in the ./ccminer... command line options, pool info, etc.  Once I make it executable and run it ccminer will start with equihash (the first in the list).  However, it is much MUCH less stable than just starting it by command line (with the same options, pool, etc.).  Plus, it stays on equihash the entire time, with no indication it is also switching or thinking about also switching.  Now, this is an all NVIDIA rig (4 1080ti, 2 1080), so equihash is likely the most profitable at any given time.  How can I be sure that A) its running/switching correctly and B) achieve the same stability as a pure command line start?

Do I need to add some commands into my sh file that tells is to switch, or just list out commands as if they were to be executed at the command line?
Should I be doing this through the ccminer.conf file instead?  Does it allow multiple algorithms?

Thanks,
Brad
ecocurrency (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 27, 2018, 12:23:50 PM
 #2

No one?  I can't be the only one with this problem.  OR, its so incredibly simply to answer that I am just the biggest idiot ever.  Both are possible, one seems less likely than the other (you choose which...).

B
butka
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 246


View Profile
April 27, 2018, 06:07:31 PM
Last edit: April 27, 2018, 09:17:55 PM by butka
 #3

Plus, it stays on equihash the entire time, with no indication it is also switching or thinking about also switching.  Now, this is an all NVIDIA rig (4 1080ti, 2 1080), so equihash is likely the most profitable at any given time.  How can I be sure that A) its running/switching correctly and B) achieve the same stability as a pure command line start?
Equihash is usually the most profitable algo for NVidia 1080 Ti.
In spite of this, your script should change from time to time to other algos. You can check on the home page of MPH which one of them is currently the most profitable for your graphic cards. Your script should in principle follow that trend.
It's hard to be sure what your problem exactly is, but I would say that something is wrong with the switching script on your side. Also, mind that the ports are different when you mine a single coin, single algo, or mutliple algos.
ecocurrency (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 28, 2018, 06:52:04 PM
 #4

Butka- Thanks for jumping in.  Are there any configuration options I need to add to utilize switching?  How often does it check to see if another algo is more profitable?

B
butka
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 246


View Profile
April 28, 2018, 07:00:10 PM
Last edit: April 28, 2018, 07:42:44 PM by butka
 #5

How often does it check to see if another algo is more profitable?
I've never used the native MPH script, so I don't know how they fine tune it. But you can use some other codes, like for example Nemosminer, which allows setting these details you are talking about.
ecocurrency (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 12:32:18 PM
 #6

Butka - Doesn't Nemosminer charge a developer fee?  I'm trying to get this up and running without fees (or as minimal as possible), to begin with.  Then it makes it easier to understand exactly the value a fee-based program brings to my setup.  I'm not against developer fees, I just like to know what I am paying for.

My start.sh file is pretty simple:

./ccminer -r 0 -a equihash -o stratum+tcp://us-east.equihash-hub.miningpoolhub.com:12023 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a lyra2z -o stratum+tcp://us-east.lyra2z-hub.miningpoolhub.com:12025 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a ethash -o stratum+tcp://us-east.ethash-hub.miningpoolhub.com:12020 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a cryptonight -o stratum+tcp://us-east.cryptonight-hub.miningpoolhub.com:12024 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a blake-vanilla -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12019 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a lyra2re2 -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12018 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a skein -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12016 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a quark -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12015 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a qubit -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12014 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a neoscrypt -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12012 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a x15 -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12009 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a x13 -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12008 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a x11 -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12007 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a MyriadGroestl -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12005 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a Groestl -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12004 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a Keccak -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12003 -u USER.020212 -p x
./ccminer -r 0 -a Scrypt-N -o stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:12002 -u USER.020212 -p x

~with USER replaced by my actual MPH username~
butka
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 246


View Profile
May 02, 2018, 10:21:43 AM
 #7

Yes, there is a developer fee in Nemosminer. You can certainly get by without any developer fees, but as I said, I've never tried this. What I would suggest, however, is to go through the steps outlined on MPH Getting stared page once again:

https://miningpoolhub.com/index.php?page=gettingstarted

Scroll down to # Multi-algo switching and make sure you have all the steps covered.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!