Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2024, 04:25:57 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Questioning Bitcoins Wantability  (Read 1101 times)
porc (OP)

Activity: 98
Merit: 10

View Profile
November 20, 2013, 07:41:34 PM
Last edit: November 20, 2013, 08:29:22 PM by porc

I am new to Bitcoin and have several concerns. Maybe you guys can ease my concerns.  Wink

A) I think that when you talk about Bitcoin as money, you have to look at two aspects.

1) USABILITY, meaning can Bitcoin function as money and 2) "WANTABILITY", meaning is Bitcoin practical and better than other alternatives (digital gold, paypal, fiat)

1) Regarding the first aspect the main concern from goldbugs and other people is that bitcoins might not be scarce and thus be unsuitable. The argument is, that bitcoin can experience inflation through the introduction and use of similar alternative currencies. A valid counter argument is that the first to market principle and network effect will mean that alt. currencies can only be successful if they offer significant benefits to bitcoin.

Couple of points that might diminish the network effect: Merchants could use a software that allows them to accept all kinds of cryptocurrencies so that customers can choose which currency they would like to pay in. Litecoiners could use litecoin and bitcoiners bitcoin. This would reduce the network effect.

2) My main concern however is WANTABILITY. Bitcoin would have to offer significant benefits to other electronic currency like paypal or goldmoney.

a) Bitcoin is anonymous and decentralized.

This argument is often brought up by bitcoin supporters as a benefit of bitcoin. However I see it as a disadvantage. Or putting it in another way: If bitcoin wants to become a major currency it will become centralized and loose its anonymity.