Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2018, 08:04:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Adding a switch to my network, recommended spec & a few small questions  (Read 799 times)
J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 21, 2013, 03:07:44 PM
 #1

I am looking to add a switch, perhaps for hooking up more ASIC blades.

Is a 10/100 switch good enough or do I need something better?

My perception is that mining doesn't really require high bandwidth, but I've got not solid research behind that other than the fact my Internet doesn't seem slower with the miners running.

My understanding is once I get a switch I can just run a cable from the router and the router will assign new IP addresses through the switch. Don't know if this even exists, but does anyone make a reasonably-priced WiFi switch or can I pair a switch with a WiFi access point somehow?

Noticed the cost of blades has almost doubled from when I bought mine last week, might wait for a price correction, but also lacking patience in the idea of timing the market for purchasing equipment. I'm seeing some good deals on used 10/100 switches, if that is good enough to run miners please let me know.

Thanks!

Edit: not sure if it matters, but my router is a Linksys WRT54G
1529352255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529352255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529352255
Reply with quote  #2

1529352255
Report to moderator
1529352255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529352255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529352255
Reply with quote  #2

1529352255
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529352255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529352255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529352255
Reply with quote  #2

1529352255
Report to moderator
1529352255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529352255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529352255
Reply with quote  #2

1529352255
Report to moderator
1529352255
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529352255

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529352255
Reply with quote  #2

1529352255
Report to moderator
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 21, 2013, 03:18:14 PM
 #2

It's not worth buying a 10/100 switch now, Gigabit ones are so cheap.

I have one of these, it's been solid as a rock for over 18 months, and uses about 2W of power at worst when all 8 ports are busy:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-SG1008-8-Port-Rackmountable-Gigabit/dp/B001AUL7A6

A 10/100 will work fine, I use a little 5-port Netgear for my RPi and 2x Blades rig, which uplinks to the TPLink.  Works fine, it even runs off the same PSU I use to run the Blades, the USB hubs, the Pi and the fans off.


You could plug a wireless access point in to the switch, and connect that to the wifi on your WRT54G.  But, it'll be crap - Wireless-G is a bit crap.  Just run a cable.



            ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
         █████████████████████████▄  
       ███████                 ██████
     ██████                      ██████
    █████      ███████████▄        ████
   ████      █████████████▀         ████
  ████      █████            ██      ████
 █████     ████     ▄▄▄      ███     ████
 █████     ████   ███████   ████
 ████      ████   ███████   ████
 ████      ████   ██████    ████      ███
  ████     █████   ▀▀▀▀     ████     ████
  ████      █████            ██      ████
   ████      █████████████▄         ████
    █████      ███████████▀        ████
     ██████                       ████
       ██████
         ██████████████████████▄
             ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
SKYFchain
█▀▀▀▀▀▀█
█  ▄██
██▀  █
█  ▄██
██▀  █
█  ▄██
██▀  █
█  ▄██
██▀  █
█      █
█▄▄▄▄▄▄█

█▀▀▀▀▀▀█
█  ▄██
██▀  █
█  ▄██
██▀  █
█  ▄██
██▀  █
█  ▄██
██▀  █
█      █
█▄▄▄▄▄▄█
J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 21, 2013, 05:25:56 PM
 #3

It's not worth buying a 10/100 switch now, Gigabit ones are so cheap.

I have one of these, it's been solid as a rock for over 18 months, and uses about 2W of power at worst when all 8 ports are busy:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-SG1008-8-Port-Rackmountable-Gigabit/dp/B001AUL7A6

A 10/100 will work fine, I use a little 5-port Netgear for my RPi and 2x Blades rig, which uplinks to the TPLink.  Works fine, it even runs off the same PSU I use to run the Blades, the USB hubs, the Pi and the fans off.


You could plug a wireless access point in to the switch, and connect that to the wifi on your WRT54G.  But, it'll be crap - Wireless-G is a bit crap.  Just run a cable.



So if I hardwire a gigabit switch will my router bottleneck it? Not sure if the WRT54G is so old that it would get in the way. Anyways, I'm looking at a 16 port 10/100 switch for something like $6, kinda seems like the way to go if it will get the mining done just as well. Am I correct in my understanding?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!