Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 04:22:57 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 50 GH/s BFL miner running at 15 GH.  (Read 3698 times)
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 05:20:29 PM
 #1

My BFL SC finally arrived today.  I plugged it in and was only getting 26 GH/s.  So I unplug it, remove the power cord, and wait a few minutes.  When I hook it all back up, it now caps out at 15 GH/s.  Any ideas?

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
1511022177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511022177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511022177
Reply with quote  #2

1511022177
Report to moderator
Visit and contribute to reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511022177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511022177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511022177
Reply with quote  #2

1511022177
Report to moderator
1511022177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511022177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511022177
Reply with quote  #2

1511022177
Report to moderator
1511022177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511022177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511022177
Reply with quote  #2

1511022177
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 05:56:42 PM
 #2

what is your setup a pi? a pc with windows 7 ?  linux?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
jermwerty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 477


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 06:00:33 PM
 #3

1.  Get a raspberry pi
2.  Load MinePeon on an SD card
3.  Mine away!
4.  Try to forget you supported those BFL scammers...
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 06:21:02 PM
 #4

I'm on archlinux, using latest cgminer from git.  All of my other miners (ASICMiner) are working fine, and the BFL is running, just not full throttle:
BAL  0:  max 55C 3.26V | 15.37G/15.16Gh/s | A:7902 R:392 HW:66 WU:209.5/m


I'm mining on a local p2pool instance.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
rammy2k2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile WWW
November 21, 2013, 06:44:22 PM
 #5

unit is faulty .. nothing new there .. they delivered u shitty unit ... i was in same situation as many others .. move on ...
jermwerty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 477


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 06:59:00 PM
 #6

I'm mining on a local p2pool instance.


P2P local instances support stratum?  Its been too long since I looked into all the P2P pool stuff...  Have you tried one of the major pools?
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 07:15:26 PM
 #7

I'm mining on a local p2pool instance.


P2P local instances support stratum?  Its been too long since I looked into all the P2P pool stuff...  Have you tried one of the major pools?

P2Pool has supported BFL rigs for months now.  Stratum support is nearing a year old if I recall.

Besides, I'm talking about cgminer's reported rate.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 08:01:19 PM
 #8

I left it off longer this time.... now about where it was when I unboxed it, but still half of expected.  I'll let it run for now until I can get a smaller hex bit.

BAL  1:  max 56C 3.26V | 25.59G/25.49Gh/s | A:  453 R:  61 HW:  4 WU:339.7/m

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
aurel57
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
November 21, 2013, 08:28:00 PM
 #9

I left it off longer this time.... now about where it was when I unboxed it, but still half of expected.  I'll let it run for now until I can get a smaller hex bit.

BAL  1:  max 56C 3.26V | 25.59G/25.49Gh/s | A:  453 R:  61 HW:  4 WU:339.7/m

i think there has been reports of fans either coming unhooked or not working. I would pull cover off and check . Also make sure both power cords have power.
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 08:31:03 PM
 #10

I left it off longer this time.... now about where it was when I unboxed it, but still half of expected.  I'll let it run for now until I can get a smaller hex bit.

BAL  1:  max 56C 3.26V | 25.59G/25.49Gh/s | A:  453 R:  61 HW:  4 WU:339.7/m

i think there has been reports of fans either coming unhooked or not working. I would pull cover off and check . Also make sure both power cords have power.

I tested the power cords and it looks like both fans are spinning, but like I said, I need to get a smaller hex/star bit before I can open it.  Thanks for the suggestions.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
ryanb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
November 24, 2013, 04:36:25 AM
 #11

it is easy
my bfl were running like crap and i fixed them take the fans off and remove the thermal tape they have and apply thermal paste

put everything back and let it sit for 30 min and run it

then you will see it hashing at the right speed.

https://bitcoinfundingteam.com/ref/SatoshiTeam
turn 0.1 BTC to 80BTC week after week!!!
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:52:06 AM
 #12

it is easy
my bfl were running like crap and i fixed them take the fans off and remove the thermal tape they have and apply thermal paste

put everything back and let it sit for 30 min and run it

then you will see it hashing at the right speed.

Thanks for the tip!

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
ryanb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
November 24, 2013, 02:30:04 PM
 #13

it is easy
my bfl were running like crap and i fixed them take the fans off and remove the thermal tape they have and apply thermal paste

put everything back and let it sit for 30 min and run it

then you will see it hashing at the right speed.

Thanks for the tip!

report back after fixing it

https://bitcoinfundingteam.com/ref/SatoshiTeam
turn 0.1 BTC to 80BTC week after week!!!
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 03:26:03 PM
 #14

it is easy
my bfl were running like crap and i fixed them take the fans off and remove the thermal tape they have and apply thermal paste

put everything back and let it sit for 30 min and run it

then you will see it hashing at the right speed.

Thanks for the tip!

report back after fixing it

I still need to acquire a star bit that is small enough to open it Sad.  Unfortunately, I have higher priority things to get done before Thanksgiving.  Hopefully next week I can get it running at full throttle.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
vpasic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:01:12 PM
 #15

BTW you need a Torx T10 screwdriver

Tips: 1Ejj8eANy2PLZVwrWUczkbQ8kQY2JhKqp6
bimblebob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:09:50 PM
 #16

Thats the real screwdriver T10. Change the paste and it should work better. Maybe you have there little single?
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 06:33:26 PM
 #17

Odd. A co-worker had a 25gh unit and same thing happened. I recommended putting it in the freezer for 15 minutes, he did it and it came right up.

Given that I have been abusing the hell out of my 20gh jalapeno here by basically dumping a volcano's worth of heat on the board, I wonder what is up...

One way to find out, there is a utility over on the BFL forums, the handy dandy bfl com port scanner that works right with FTDI drivers and will dump out what the unit is thinking. Try grabbing it and giving it a shot.

Another thought on those lines, grab another computer, load up bfgminer, and see what it says. Do the D for display, then M to view all the CPUs and see what's up. Maybe it's conflicting with something else in your mining pile.

C
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 09:43:13 PM
 #18

Odd. A co-worker had a 25gh unit and same thing happened. I recommended putting it in the freezer for 15 minutes, he did it and it came right up.

Given that I have been abusing the hell out of my 20gh jalapeno here by basically dumping a volcano's worth of heat on the board, I wonder what is up...

One way to find out, there is a utility over on the BFL forums, the handy dandy bfl com port scanner that works right with FTDI drivers and will dump out what the unit is thinking. Try grabbing it and giving it a shot.

Another thought on those lines, grab another computer, load up bfgminer, and see what it says. Do the D for display, then M to view all the CPUs and see what's up. Maybe it's conflicting with something else in your mining pile.

C

Do you have a link to this debugging tool, and does it work with Linux?

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 10:14:19 PM
 #19

Odd. A co-worker had a 25gh unit and same thing happened. I recommended putting it in the freezer for 15 minutes, he did it and it came right up.

Given that I have been abusing the hell out of my 20gh jalapeno here by basically dumping a volcano's worth of heat on the board, I wonder what is up...

One way to find out, there is a utility over on the BFL forums, the handy dandy bfl com port scanner that works right with FTDI drivers and will dump out what the unit is thinking. Try grabbing it and giving it a shot.

Another thought on those lines, grab another computer, load up bfgminer, and see what it says. Do the D for display, then M to view all the CPUs and see what's up. Maybe it's conflicting with something else in your mining pile.

C

Do you have a link to this debugging tool, and does it work with Linux?
Google says:

https://forums.butterflylabs.com/jalapeno-single-sc-support/4564-diagnostic-tool-bfl-com-port-scanner.html

And I don't think it does.

C
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
November 25, 2013, 04:08:22 PM
 #20

By the way, someone shared with me an interesting set of pictures of an SC30 that was having issues. The important thing from my understanding is that SC30's have only one side of chips, including only one side of power FETs.

That is very interesting. It implies that the two sides are actually independent, boosting this is the possiblity that there are two power feeds from the power supply. If that's the case, then it's possible that an SC60 could have a power failure either in the supply or the +1 rail that would shut down half the unit and leave the other half running (depending on which side also runs the USB logic).

So if your unit is only hashing at half power, see if you can check the power supplies. If one is down, do NOT try to backfeed with a big power supply unless you put a fuse in series, something like a 6-7a fast blow. For proper testing I would use a 3a fuse and not start hashing (just see if the board comes up). If the fuse blows, you have a short on that side of the board.

If you send unregulated power into a shorted FET, there will be... smoke....

C
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!