Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 08:49:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Having trouble getting started with cgminer  (Read 1169 times)
emote_control
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 07:35:54 PM
 #1

I'm getting started in mining and I'm trying to figure out how to actually do some work.  I've been running cgminer, connected to the Eclipse pool, on two different machines for two days each, and I have apparently contributed nothing.  My stats are as follows:

Code:
(5s):0.000 (avg)0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m
ST: 2 SS: 0 NB: 70 LW: 650 GF: 0 RF: 0
Connected to us1.eclipsemc.com diff 10 with GBT as user emote_control_worker
Block 1c008252... Diff:609M Started: [14:25:03]  Best share: 0

I'm not sure how to interpret this data, especially the indication that I have an average of 0h/s.  I'm getting a lot of messages like these, repeated over and over:

Code:
GBT LONGPOLL from pool 0 detected new block
GBT LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart

Have I missed something in setting up the software?  Or is this normal behavior?

Any advice is appreciated.  Thanks!

Sharecoin: SShdswphHC9wCBWWVV1n2Zd9m3yH68ZNh8
1511383777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511383777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511383777
Reply with quote  #2

1511383777
Report to moderator
1511383777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511383777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511383777
Reply with quote  #2

1511383777
Report to moderator
1511383777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511383777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511383777
Reply with quote  #2

1511383777
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511383777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511383777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511383777
Reply with quote  #2

1511383777
Report to moderator
1511383777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511383777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511383777
Reply with quote  #2

1511383777
Report to moderator
Damnsammit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
November 22, 2013, 07:37:32 PM
 #2

Yeah, doesn't look like you are hashing at all.

What is the command line you are using to start cgminer?

What hardware are you using?
emote_control
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 02:52:31 AM
 #3

The command I'm using on both machines to start it is just:

Code:
cgminer.exe  -o http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 -u emote_control_worker -p [pass]

The one machine is an Asus G75VW notebook with an I7 CPU and a 660M GPU.  The other is mostly used as a media centre and so I can't be bothered to remember what sort of half-assed hardware it has in it.  However, it's always on, so I figure I should keep a miner chugging slowly away in the background on it.

They're both behaving identically, so I figured that it probably has something to do with the command I'm using.  Probably missing the "actually do something" flag.

UPDATE: 

I found this thread over on the litecoin forums.  Apparently the version I was running has a compatibility issue.  Switching to v3.7 has apparently got something happening.  I'm seeing an average 23.81Mh/s now.

Sharecoin: SShdswphHC9wCBWWVV1n2Zd9m3yH68ZNh8
Arthor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 03:31:40 AM
 #4

I really suggest you don't try to waste resources of your machines and electricity. The difficulty today is VERY HIGH, and you won't make any substantial amount of BTCs with your hardware. Enter you MHs/s rate to any calc on the net, like this one: http://www.bitcoinx.com/profit/ and you'll see that you won't get much.

Instead I suggest you to get a 10$ and buy BTC on MtGox or with any other payment source. You'll thank me in 6 month Smiley

If you'd like to mine anyway (may be you suggest that fun and entertaining, like me Smiley you should take a look at alternative cryptocurrencies.

There are several currencies that are designed for CPU mining:

* Protoshares: https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1492-protoshares-pts-information/
* Primecoin: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=251850.0

These currencies may or may not increase their value over time, but if they will that may be a good investment of CPU time.
coinbitty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 05:10:10 AM
 #5

You need something more powerful.

You can input your hashing speed here. http://dustcoin.com/mining

It will show how much you'll get, best to switch to scrypt mining difficulty is still low.
Sha-256 difficulty is too high.
Damnsammit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
November 25, 2013, 04:18:28 PM
 #6

Yeah I wouldn't waste your electricity with that low of a hashrate. 
emote_control
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
November 30, 2013, 03:43:14 PM
 #7

Actually looking at Litecoin mining.  I found out that my low hashrate has to do with the fact that I have NVidia cards in my machines, and for whatever reason, they don't hash well.  But by coincidence, I just ordered an AMD card at a black friday sale, and so I should have a decent hashrate there.  Based on this calculator and the current value of litecoins, it should pay for itself in under a month...assuming I can find a buyer.  Actually, considering that ~28 litecoin trades for 1 bitcoin at the moment, I'm probably better off trading for bitcoin and sitting on it.  Or maybe just sitting on the litecoin and seeing if they go up.

I know this is off-topic for this thread, but does anyone have any opinions about litecoin vs bitcoin?

Sharecoin: SShdswphHC9wCBWWVV1n2Zd9m3yH68ZNh8
Dillinger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
November 30, 2013, 03:50:06 PM
 #8

Why don't you try cudaminer, it's designed for nvidia cards.

BTC: 1JVMyhhihuJjiUuEJhM4T93ztFkQ6Zc5rT
LTC: LiVNe9qA3fLuzezwqhpGPL3VE7kTaDvyEn
FTC: 6opksuY9LvDoJcmqpXgd7KEtv7YKA7VsWV
emote_control
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
November 30, 2013, 04:04:43 PM
 #9

Well, cudaminer is better, but it's still pretty dismal.  I'll keep it running on the laptop though.

Sharecoin: SShdswphHC9wCBWWVV1n2Zd9m3yH68ZNh8
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!