Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:28:53 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Efficiency... PS 240v 120 v....  (Read 882 times)
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 01:51:03 AM
 #1

Im lazy, someone out there knows the answer..

is one any cheaper to run ?   240v as opposed to 120v AC

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
1481113733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481113733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481113733
Reply with quote  #2

1481113733
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 02:13:28 AM
 #2

amperage * voltage = wattage

Or put another way

wattage / voltage = amperage

The main point to take away from this is that the higher the voltage, the lower the amperage.

Example: You have a rig pulling 1200 watts. At 120 volts this rig would be pulling 10 amps (1200/120=10). If you put the rig on 240 volts your amperage requirement is cut in half (1200/240=5). So if you have a 40 amp breaker on 240v, it is the equivalent to having 80 amp breaker on 120v.

Most PSUs can run on any voltage from 115 to 240 volts as they are designed to run on just about any electrical system in the world. Also, PSUs generally run a bit more efficient at higher voltages, generally 3%.

inh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 01:51:54 AM
 #3

According to my PSU owners manual, my PSU is more efficient at 240v vs 120v.
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 02:06:01 AM
 #4

Thanks guys, from what little I know about transformers, I suspected as much..

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 06:22:20 PM
 #5

This is why my rack of rigs runs 240v. Dual 30amp 240v L6-30p Smiley

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 10:08:12 AM
 #6

This is why my rack of rigs runs 240v. Dual 30amp 240v L6-30p Smiley

Same here. The electrical will be done tomorrow for my 208v setup on three phase commercial power. Three phase also has the added benefit of spreading the load over three power wires and as more load is added, the net effect is a decrease in amperage of 1.73 at the main fuses. This effectively means that a three phase 200 amp service can run close to 57kw per hour at 80% capacity (57000w / 208 / 1.73 = 158.4 amps).
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2011, 10:09:35 AM
 #7

Typically a higher voltage setup is more efficient because the current is lower, thus I^2xR losses are less.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!