Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:19:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Howto setup minig for a windows machine, then exhange to euros  (Read 668 times)
Bas Koning
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8

I am Dutch, so my English can look a little odd.


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:07:27 AM
 #1

A thing I have been wondering is:

Howto setup one of my machines (windows 7, geforce 9600 GT) to mine some small coin when I sleep.

That would be awesome.
 
Then, how can I extract those coins, exchange them into euros, and buy groceries  Wink

I would like to post a small manual about that on youtube to get more people involved: lots of greedy people will mine for a dime. (including myself, hehe)

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
UrbanAdventurer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:15:44 AM
 #2

download the bitcoin client, download guiminer, pick and register at a pool, then setup an account at tradehill. 
322i0n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2011, 07:21:45 AM
 #3

You can also trade BTC for euro at intersango.eu.

Supporting The Global Insurrection Against Banker Occupation
BTC: 1C1w6t1dMkEXeCntURxDiBiWsTbdJbvTr9
NMC: N6uNpVPAdpTur4Hwr8Sqgd6kxcKPto4S2T
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:22:38 AM
 #4

9600 GT

Buy a new ATI GPU Tongue

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
Bas Koning
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8

I am Dutch, so my English can look a little odd.


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:44:14 AM
 #5


Yeah, I know, its just an oldie gathering dust in a corner.  Roll Eyes
 
How much hashes does it take to mine a single coin (or euro) anyway? Very roughly estimated?
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:50:16 AM
 #6

It should take about 2 weeks (if you are running 24/7) to make 0.1 bitcoins (~1 euro). You will spend a lot more than that in electricity though.
Sepp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 11:56:05 AM
 #7

It should take about 2 weeks (if you are running 24/7) to make 0.1 bitcoins (~1 euro). You will spend a lot more than that in electricity though.


Sounds like a bad deal to me  Sad
Bas Koning
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8

I am Dutch, so my English can look a little odd.


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 06:45:43 AM
 #8

-Create wallet with http://heanet.dl.sourceforge.net/project/bitcoin/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.3.24/bitcoin-0.3.24-win32-setup.exe: Done
-Register an account with http://mining.bitcoin.cz/accounts/register/: Done
-Also, register a worker there (since it appears one has to register each GPU individually): Done

-Install gui-miner (for 64bit) http://cloud.github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/guiminer-20110501.exeDone
Now, the GPU I have did not show up in gui-miner, instead it gave me some feedback about openCL, so I installed http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/Pages/default.aspx, restarted gui-miner, and there it was: my trusty old GeForce 9600GT, showing up just fine.

-Filled in credentials in the miner, pressed 'start mining':
It would not connect: 'starting' or 'connecting', then: nothing moves for half an hour.

Added 'summary' and 'console' to the view.

Summary seems to hang on the message 'connecting'. The console gave some clue, though:
Code:
Wrong platform or more than one OpenCL platforms found, use --platform to select one of the following
[0] NVIDIA CUDA
[1] AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing

So I tried with this flag:
Code:
--platform 1

Restarting mining now did not raise any warnings or errors in the console.
Checking the summary shows I am currently adding 3.2Mhash/s to the pool Smiley

But: after a while: 'verification failed! check hardware!' Oops:
tried
Code:
--platform 0
instead.

Restarting mining now did not raise any warnings or errors in the console.
Checking the summary shows I am currently fluctuating between 13 and 13.3Mhash/s.
Few seconds later: 1 share accepted.

Checked my account on http://mining.bitcoin.cz/accounts/profile/, estimated BTC reward for current round:
0.00030305 BTC
 
 Grin

Where is a list of all the flag options?
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
August 07, 2011, 06:59:44 AM
 #9

That video card is not awesome, but you should be able to get a bit more mhash out of it.

I would install the latest nVidia driver 275.xx for the best OpenCL support.

The most productive nVidia miner is guiminer 6-14-2011, later versions are more ATI-optimized.

And then get nVidia system tools and overclock that thing until it catches on fire!

Bas Koning
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8

I am Dutch, so my English can look a little odd.


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 08:21:39 AM
 #10

install the latest nVidia driver 275.xx:
17.3 MHash/s, wow! That helped a lot  Cheesy (I did have very old drivers)

Downgrading the gui-miner to 6-14-2011:
Did not help a lot: Unchanged at 17.3 MHash/s

I am a little afraid to overclock it to death... What variables are relatively safe to fiddle with, you think?
 
Any place where I can find all the possible flags? Could tinkering with those flags increase Mhash/s somehow?

(edit)
I also created a worker for my CPU, just for fun, the 6-14 version lets me select cpu-affinity, as long as I keep one processor focused on GPU, rest on CPU I get
17.3 MHash/s (GPU) +
2.5 MHash/s (CPU) =
19.8 MHash/s (total)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!