Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 12:12:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is Mining Capacity Cumulative or can it be  (Read 815 times)
bitndx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 03:44:23 PM
 #1

If I had 3 1TH boxes would it be correct to say I had 3TH of mining power or is it really 1TH of mining power since each box's peak power is 1TH?


In other words is mining power constrained by the physical box it is contained in and any additional boxes are just more "chances" to win a block?




thanks
1513512765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513512765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513512765
Reply with quote  #2

1513512765
Report to moderator
1513512765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513512765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513512765
Reply with quote  #2

1513512765
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513512765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513512765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513512765
Reply with quote  #2

1513512765
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 03:47:02 PM
 #2

The only thing that matters is total output.

3 x 1 TH or 1 x 3TH or 300x 0.01 TH it is still 3 TH of hashpower.
bitndx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 03:56:39 PM
 #3

The only thing that matters is total output.

3 x 1 TH or 1 x 3TH or 300x 0.01 TH it is still 3 TH of hashpower.

Is that because the miner can orchestrate or coordinate among the 3 physical nodes to solve the puzzles?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 04:09:07 PM
 #4

There is no cordination required.  It isn't a puzzle (I know people say that but it is factually wrong).  Each hash is a random guess and miners are looking for a hash below a certain target.   It will take the same number of hashes (in the long run) to solve a block.  Units don't need to work "together", there is no progress towards a solution.  Each hash either instantly "wins" (solves a block) or it is loses and the next hash has no greater chance of being a solution.


Think of hashes like lottery tickets.  In a lottery on average there will be a winner for every x lottery tickets sold.  Sometimes a winner will be found is less than x, sometimes more than x but on average across thousands of lotteries the number of tickets per winner will be roughly x.  If a lottery ticket wins it simply wins, if you buy 1,000 lottery tickets and they are also losers you aren't "closer" to winning next week.  Every ticket has an equal chance of being a winner.  In mining instead of buying lottery tickets your rig is producing hashes but it is the same concept.
bitndx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 05:48:44 PM
 #5

Thanks for your responses!

so it seems like each instance of the miner has an equal chance to win and is differentiated by hash speed(MH GH TH) hence the drive to more densely packed rigs running under one instance of the miner??



I need to think about the mining software more to understand the methodology behind the "guesses" ...sequential, random, boolean etc.



Zelek Uther
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


Run a Bitcoin node.


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 06:56:40 PM
 #6

Do pools assign different nonce ranges to different workers?

Run a Bitcoin node, support the network.
How to compile and run bitcoind on a Raspberry Pi
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!