Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 08:41:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How can I generate alot of addresses inside armory?  (Read 785 times)
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 05:16:51 PM
 #1

I would like to generate a lot of addresses using armory since I would only need to back up that code, and be able to restore. How can I do this in the gui? Is it even possible in the gui?

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
1513370485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513370485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513370485
Reply with quote  #2

1513370485
Report to moderator
1513370485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513370485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513370485
Reply with quote  #2

1513370485
Report to moderator
1513370485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513370485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513370485
Reply with quote  #2

1513370485
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513370485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513370485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513370485
Reply with quote  #2

1513370485
Report to moderator
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 07:19:29 PM
 #2

Okay, it is in the GUI, but a warning first:

There's a bug in address generation, that causes generation time to be O(N2) of the number of addresses you want to generate only if the wallet is encrypted.  Therefore, you should only generate up to 500 addresses at a time ,if it's encrypted.  If you make the wallet unencrypted first, you can do any number in O(N).  Of course, most people don't want to write an unencrypted copy of their wallet, but it may be the only real way to work around this. 

There is a work around if you modify the code directly, and make the walletLockTimeout > 10s.  Make it like 10 min.  Then unlock your wallet anywhere in the app, and it will remain unlocked for 10m.  Then go generate your 1,000,000 addresses.   (btw, 237 bytes on disk for every address you calculate)

The new wallet format should resolve this issue.  Until then, you'll have to work around this constraint.

Btw, the operation is in the GUI, in Expert usermode, within the wallet properties.  Click on "# Addressses used"

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 07:22:22 PM
 #3

Okay, it is in the GUI, but a warning first:

There's a bug in address generation, that causes generation time to be O(N2) of the number of addresses you want to generate only if the wallet is encrypted.  Therefore, you should only generate up to 500 addresses at a time ,if it's encrypted.  If you make the wallet unencrypted first, you can do any number in O(N).  Of course, most people don't want to write an unencrypted copy of their wallet, but it may be the only real way to work around this. 

There is a work around if you modify the code directly, and make the walletLockTimeout > 10s.  Make it like 10 min.  Then unlock your wallet anywhere in the app, and it will remain unlocked for 10m.  Then go generate your 1,000,000 addresses.   (btw, 237 bytes on disk for every address you calculate)

The new wallet format should resolve this issue.  Until then, you'll have to work around this constraint.

Btw, the operation is in the GUI, in Expert usermode, within the wallet properties.  Click on "# Addressses used"

Thanks it worked!

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!