Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:37:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GUIMiner not picking up GPU  (Read 3966 times)
FriedTaco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:19:24 PM
 #1

I'm currently running an ATI Radeon 4350 HD card, and I've installed the latest drivers as well as AMD APP SDK, yet GUIMiner only picks up my CPU. Has anyone else had this issue and know how to fix it?
1480725432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725432
Reply with quote  #2

1480725432
Report to moderator
1480725432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725432
Reply with quote  #2

1480725432
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480725432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725432
Reply with quote  #2

1480725432
Report to moderator
1480725432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725432
Reply with quote  #2

1480725432
Report to moderator
1480725432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725432
Reply with quote  #2

1480725432
Report to moderator
nopan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:33:59 PM
 #2

If you're on a Windows OS connect a display device or a modified adapter to the card, otherwise Windows doesn't activate the card.

Activate the display in screen resolution dialog before you start the miner and it should work.
FriedTaco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:38:19 PM
 #3

If you're on a Windows OS connect a display device or a modified adapter to the card, otherwise Windows doesn't activate the card.

Activate the display in screen resolution dialog before you start the miner and it should work.


Could you elaborate a bit on this? I'm not very hardware savvy.
malbritten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:41:33 PM
 #4

You need to be actually using a monitor or running the card to have it show up. Not sure if that's where your problem is.  Sounds dumb, but took me a while to figure this out when I installed a second GPU in my pc.

Help me fulfill the BTC pledge! Donate to: 17VBgC5q7SfytSpsKLU4x6gf9MpjhzaZKn
nopan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:46:50 PM
 #5

dict.leo.org ->elaborate...

ahh, elaborate is something like ausführlicher in german. Had to look it up, I'm not very english savy Smiley

Are you trying this on a Windows Operating system?

Windows doesn't activate (or recognize if you want) graphic cards that don't have a display/monitor connected. If Windows doesn't activate the card GUIminer cannot run calculations on it too.

Is there something connected to the card beside pcie and power?
FriedTaco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:49:26 PM
 #6

I'm only running that one card and I have a monitor plugged in. I'm just trying to mine bitcoins in the time that I'm using my PC, so it'll always be using that card and have a monitor plugged in while mining.

@nopan There is not.
nopan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:53:21 PM
 #7

I think your card isn't supportet:

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6224.0


Try other card or other OS.

Would be slow anyway...
FriedTaco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:58:41 PM
 #8

I'll try out Ubuntu 10.10 later. I'd gladly try another card, but this is all I have. I'm currently running Windows 7 64 bit, and there are AMD supported drivers for both my OS's.
nopan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 08:15:14 PM
 #9

Check this first:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Your 4350 will make something around 8Mh/s...

That is 0.003834 BTC per day or with a course of 11USD/BTC something like 0.042174 USD per day
FriedTaco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 09:19:23 PM
 #10

Check this first:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Your 4350 will make something around 8Mh/s...

That is 0.003834 BTC per day or with a course of 11USD/BTC something like 0.042174 USD per day

Four cents a day doesn't seem at all worth the effort. I think I'll pass on bitcoin mining then, thank you for your help!
malbritten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 09:20:43 PM
 #11

Check this first:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Your 4350 will make something around 8Mh/s...

That is 0.003834 BTC per day or with a course of 11USD/BTC something like 0.042174 USD per day

Four cents a day doesn't seem at all worth the effort. I think I'll pass on bitcoin mining then, thank you for your help!

I hope you still decide to find a way to contribute to the BTC economy though.

Help me fulfill the BTC pledge! Donate to: 17VBgC5q7SfytSpsKLU4x6gf9MpjhzaZKn
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!