Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 03:36:39 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [PROPOSAL/PLANNED] ShardCoin  (Read 1603 times)
rarkenin (OP)

Activity: 784
Merit: 500

View Profile
November 30, 2013, 10:59:45 PM
Last edit: November 30, 2013, 11:11:35 PM by rarkenin

First of all, I'm most definitely not using C++ for this as my knowledge of it sucks. I'm likely forking bitcoinj for this, and using that as an official client. I know basic to moderate cryptography/cryptology and have studied the technical design of bitcoin, but I am self-taught so my terminology is likely crap.

This thread is extremely likely to change or die depending on my personal responsibilities and free time, as well as how coding goes. There is NO ETA. With that said, let's get started.

ShardCoin? Yes. A coin that can be created in shards. Perhaps an interesting idea, perhaps a stupid one. We'll see. In traditional bitcoin mining, every single coin created is created at the minting of a block into which transactions enter. The miner gets their 50 25 BTC and tx fees and is happy. But what about all these uber-small miners out there, trying to mine? Pools? An external solution to an internal concept problem.

ShardCoin is somewhat different, in that the network carries two difficulties depending on mining successes and the current hashrate. The first, high difficulty, is extremely similar to the bitcoin network. A working nonce reaching this difficulty will get their share of coins, as an input into the block's transactions paid to the miner. This is targeted to happen once every 2.5 minutes. Read on.