Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 10:32:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bug in bitcoin client fee calculation?  (Read 516 times)
fusebox
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 07:36:19 AM
 #1

Is there a bug in the bitcoin client calculation that wipes out your total balance:

Why was the fee on this tx  .00218755
http://blockexplorer.com/tx/3156bc06624e735c89b39cb5c10d105f7afcea530359db07e17c02a9fd6608a9#o0

Shouldn't it have been .0015?   (2x >1kb penalty, plus 1x for recent coin spend).  That's what the bitcoin gui suggested...
This effectivly took all the residual out of the wallet.. IE, we had a balance of .12218755 and tried to send it but it failed due to the fee requirement.   So we changed the amount to send to .12... and approved the .0015 fee.. but the transaction ended up wiping out the balance.   Presumably a client bug if you have to renter a transaction after being blocked due to the fee.

Would be nice if the client actually explained how the fee calculation breaks down.
1511044369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511044369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511044369
Reply with quote  #2

1511044369
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511044369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511044369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511044369
Reply with quote  #2

1511044369
Report to moderator
fusebox
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 07:48:38 AM
 #2

This one confuses me too:
http://blockexplorer.com/tx/7215c863958d49c58af1ef34cf45c821a0ec3583ed3335c1a4579228ba13c04a#inputs

size < 1kb
balance > 120 confirmation
tx > .01 BTC...
Yet client assessed a .0015 fee.
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 03:07:14 PM
 #3

This is the result of a bug being reintroduced due to a code reorganization that sends outputs <.01 BTC as a fee. It will be resolved in the next release.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!