Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:07:52 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Run miner or mining-proxy on port 80?  (Read 2621 times)
Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 08:48:10 AM
 #1

I tried but couldn't create a http-tunnel from my pc at work which pierces proxy and firewall.

Is there any possibility to mine with my work PCs on port 80 or set up a mining-proxy (at home) for the work PCs which I can forward to the pool of my choice?
1481054872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054872
Reply with quote  #2

1481054872
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481054872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054872
Reply with quote  #2

1481054872
Report to moderator
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 08:56:48 AM
 #2

If your miner is running Linux, you could try smartcoin and then use a web-based ssh client like www.gotossh.com or even a smartphone to administer your system

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 08:58:17 AM
 #3

Thanks for the suggestion.
I'm on Windows with both machines at work. Sadly can't alter that.

I don't want to adminster my miners at home. I want to mine with my work-PCs (both desktops with ok GPUs).
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 09:00:20 AM
 #4

A windows machine can use putty to connect to a Linux miner with no problem.  Or are you mining on the windows work computers?

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 09:02:26 AM
 #5

I want to mine with the work PCs.
TeaRex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 02:25:57 PM
 #6

cdhowie's proxy lets you mine on port 80 without problems. In fact I'm doing just that since it means I won't have to open more than one port (I need port 80 anyway for the proxy's web admin interface). The proxy itself is port agnostic, you just need to configure the Apache it runs on to use the correct port.

If you run that proxy on Windows note that you'll have to greatly increase the Timeout and ThreadsPerChild values in the Apache httpd.conf, otherwise the proxy will give more stales than necessary and will stop working after some hours. I use Timeout 4200 and and ThreadsPerChild 1024 which works well.

*Image Removed*
I'm not asking for donations, but if you think YOUR post is deserving a donation FROM me, send me a message.
strictlyfocused
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 02:56:29 PM
 #7

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=23768.msg331131#msg331131

This post talks about connectivity issues which doesn't apply here, but it also talks about getting a program up and running called socat. The socat program is the key here to do exactly what you are asking. Finding a win32 version of socat was the hardest part for me and that was still pretty easy  Smiley

Or you could mine eligius.st over port 80
Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 03:30:48 PM
 #8

I would use eligius on port 80 but lack which miner supports proxy authorization (not cgiminer)?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!