Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 09:50:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Piar of Rigs I'd like to setup for mining, plan to document  (Read 1613 times)
TinkerToyTech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7



View Profile
February 17, 2011, 05:22:13 PM
 #1

I orginally heard about the Bitcoin project on Security Now, on the TWiT.tv network...

I haven't thought this message through so it's going to be a bit of a stream on conceness I hope you can wrap your head around it.  I know since hearing the first Security now show and all that I'm reading I'm kinda dizzy     

First, why aren't you all backing up your wallet data, when it changes, along with other pertinent data, on shutdown and startup, to a flash drive?  They're cheap and can hold gobs of data

I have a pair of rigs that I'd like to setup for mining when they're not otherwise used for video editing.   One Intel, one AMD, both quadcores running at 3.0GHz, the Intel has a watercooled cpu and watercooled 4850x2 card 1G, the AMD is Watercooled CPU and a aircooled 4850x2 2G card.    The AMD (which model cpu I don't recall atm) System is watercooled with one of those 120MM^2 radiators and a fan with the integral pump atop the cpu block.  The Intel System (a q9950 cpu) with a CoolerMaster Kit with a 120x250mm radiator with two fans, an OCZ waterblock, the 4850x2 has a full cover-jacket by XSPC (I have the pictures for that install in my photobucket.com if your interested) and 3/4 inch tubing and fittings.  I will also take pictures of it all and post them to a mining rig site / rofum if you know of one, let me know!


My plans for contribution are to try to documnet actual power use and thermal data with this hardware, stock versus watercooled, and stock versus overclocked with the power and heat consumption numbers to try to give the community an idea of how much it costs to mint coins and then perhaps join hte stripminers that are adding to the economy by paying higher power bills!     

I also can swap out the 4850x2 2G with 2 1G 4870 aircooled cards in the AMD System

I'm also considering getting (if I can) another waterjacket for the 4850x2 2g, and putting them both in one system.

The Systems are running win 7 64bit with 8G of ram, on a switched gigabit network, 64G SSD system drives

I'm a hardware nerd that's cobbled together a couple of frankensystems and what the heck, let's put them to work

I'm telling you from the git go that I'm no longer a programmer but an advancer used none the less...  This hardware hwen not mining was used for video editing and there isn't that much call for my services anymore.   

If you would like to help or show any interest in this please post a message in this thread or drop me an email.

-TinkerToyTech
@TinkerToyTech on the twitter

http://i637.photobucket.com/albums/uu99/tinkertoytech/MICKEY%20AVATAR/th_TinkerToyTech2-sig.png (http://s637.photobucket.com/albums/uu99/tinkertoytech/MICKEY%20AVATAR/?action=view&current=TinkerToyTech2-sig.png)
1481190656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190656
Reply with quote  #2

1481190656
Report to moderator
1481190656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190656
Reply with quote  #2

1481190656
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481190656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190656
Reply with quote  #2

1481190656
Report to moderator
1481190656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481190656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481190656
Reply with quote  #2

1481190656
Report to moderator
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
February 17, 2011, 05:56:02 PM
 #2

First, why aren't you all backing up your wallet data, when it changes, along with other pertinent data, on shutdown and startup, to a flash drive?
Backing up so often is not necessary. The only truly important things are your private keys. The way the client works is that it keeps a pool of ~100 (customizable) unused private keys. That way, even after a few transactions your backup is still valid. This allows you to only backup when X new private keys are created, X being some number between 1 and 100.
Anonymous
Guest

February 18, 2011, 12:16:41 AM
 #3

You could post to the bitcoinmedia group blog by email if you like.

http://bitcoinmedia.posterous.com

Send me a pm and Ill add you as a contributor.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!