Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:39:18 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BLOCK creation only containing 1 transaction. Generation 50 BTC  (Read 1440 times)
zimmer4mp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2



View Profile
February 18, 2011, 01:25:53 AM
 #1

Hi Folks,
 Yes I'm a Newbie here at BitCoin, Newbie to Forums in general, so if I do something impolite or dumb , Sorry , let me know.
Found BitCoin from Security Now on the TWIT network podcast last week and find the BTC concept interesting.

So my question to the developers is:
If generating BTC's and paying myself for doing work, (processing transactions), why do I see Blocks , [ http://blockexplorer.com/ ] , being generated with just the one transaction for 50 BTC.
I think every Block should contain at least 2 transactions.

Any thoughts ?

Cheers. . . .
1480898358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898358
Reply with quote  #2

1480898358
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
February 18, 2011, 02:35:33 AM
 #2

Actually adding transactions is optional. Some miners don't add them.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2492


View Profile
February 18, 2011, 03:16:45 AM
 #3

Even a block with just a generation transaction makes it more difficult for previous blocks to be reversed.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
zimmer4mp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2



View Profile
February 18, 2011, 04:28:23 AM
 #4

Thanks for your replies.

I understand that each Block adds to the chain and everything is OK.
My point is whether I am creating a Block to MINE for BTC's , (The Precious), or not, I think the work of processing outstanding transactions should be included to benefit the system. If you say that you can choose to include transactions, then I am out of my depth. I imagine someone has grabbed the source code and created their own client.
Adding 1 or all the available transactions doesn't make the chances of solving the problem any harder.
Well OK it might have a factor if your input is X / Y or Z Kb in size.
Just browsing looks like 1 transaction = 0.219kB, 2t=0.473kB 3t=5.919kb (Lots of bits in that one.) , but it's all in memory.

I have change in my account to experiment with.

Cheers. . . .
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2492


View Profile
February 18, 2011, 05:29:42 AM
 #5

The single transaction is the generation transaction that pays to the generator. All blocks must have at least this one transaction.

There just weren't any new transactions at that time, probably. There are tens of thousands of blocks like these. Blocks are created regardless of the number of transactions, and the hashing scheme is set up in such a way that adding transactions doesn't slow down hashing at all.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
G-Nugget
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
February 19, 2011, 08:48:41 AM
 #6

Since generating blocks only hashes the fixed length header, there isn't a disadvantage to having more transactions in a block.  The fees on transactions are an incentive for users to include transactions in blocks, as the generator of the block gets the fees as well.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!