Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:19:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I think it's harder to find help if you don't know where to look  (Read 750 times)
XSpanded
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 11:11:20 AM
 #1

On that note. I'm gonna apologize for being so dumb.
Starting from the beginning
I learned about Bitcoins.from.anonplus and I found this
>http://www.weusecoins.com/ site<  Website
and I downloaded the windows version of the original bitcoin client
>http://www.bitcoin.org/< Download link
^ ^ but that is just a wallet
the mining is done with Cpu/gpu miners
If your looking for a video on how to set that up watch
>http://www.youtube.com/user/ClearTutorials?blend=1&ob=5#p/u/0/AJeIWT8q1sg< Youtube video
(and subscribe I hope to see a video on a what if)
>the link in the video<
>https://github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/guiminer-20110701.exe< Download link
When I do as the video says and try to extract it using the 7z utility I get an error message that reads
# Message
0 Can not open file 'C:\Documents and settings\ user\My documents\Downloads\guiminer-20110701.exe

But when I double click it straight from download it runs just fine, little lines flicker across the black blank window and that is that.

I would prefer a cpu miner, my notebook presario v2000 doesn't have a gpu that I'm aware of. I'm aware of it because it has no 3d accelerator drivers and I can't for the life of me update them.

The first option I chose before watching the "youtube video" was to get a cpu miner, on the grounds I don't have a gpu. jgarzik's CPU miner (instructions)
>http://bitcointalk.org/?topic=1925.0< Website
First post #
>http://yyz.us/bitcoin/cpuminer-installer-1.0.2.zip< Download link
and I quote him
"UPDATE:  This has largely been superceded by Con Kolivas's cgminer fork.  See cgminer's official forum thread for updates and details."

>http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0< Website

this is about when I realized that the bitcoin wallet the "pool" account via
>http://mining.bitcoin.cz/< Website
and miner need to be programmed together to cooperate. I can't find that answer.

I ran a search on bitcoining mining and software
>http://www.bitcoinminer.com/post/4002371604/miner-pools-software-20110321< Website
Still searching for a cpu miner I found
jgarzik’s CPU Miner
>http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1925.0< Previous Website repost #1
With a secondary wiki link
>https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Cpu_Miner< Website

in the list of miners on the Website link to bitcoinminer.com
the second one on the list Kiv’s GUI Frontend
>http://github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/poclbm-gui-20110321.exe< Download link
As explained on this website \|/
>https://github.com/Kiv/poclbm< Website
I downloaded the archive and I found .py files and went directly to Python 3.2.1
>http://www.python.org/download/releases/3.2.1/< Website In hindsight I should have downloaded 2.7.2
Brick wall couldn't use it, I still have no clue

Another option I had for opening and editing .py files was notepad++
>http://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/v5.9.3.html< Website
it opens GUIminer without a hitch

>>I still am not sure if opening the .py files is how you configure them or if it was meant to be done<<

My first Question After I installed the bitcoin client HOW can I connect it or configure it with a username or password?

After I configure the Bitcoin Client and register an account on http://www.mining.bitcoin.cz
I added my wallet number 13v6CH9CYeFVXSC96RkjzjA9VK2mrRYbcx I'm directed to please point your miners to new URL: api2.bitcoin.cz lol I don't know what the correct question for this is Tongue
I had a thought and added the url to Add new IP or domain to whitelist and still had no luck.

I still have no miner set up.

efficiently

As shown in the "Youtube video" although my account still has issues I registered a new worker went to Kiv's GUI miner (Windows, recommended for beginners) How do I configure it to my account?

Lastly How do all three things cooperate? the files are mainly made up of .py .po .cl .mkd who's not making the apps lol? I hope if your reading this and can't help me I hope I helped you in some way.
#XSPANDED
1481192346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192346
Reply with quote  #2

1481192346
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481192346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192346
Reply with quote  #2

1481192346
Report to moderator
1481192346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192346
Reply with quote  #2

1481192346
Report to moderator
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 11:41:58 AM
 #2

I only read half of your post, but:

Mining with a CPU is not worth it. Mining with a Compaq Presario V2000 is almost impossible.

Your laptop CPU is too slow and you will probably never earn anything (not even bitcents). It will take you forever just to submit one share. Use a good GPU and you will earn something. See this post for more details: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=35906.msg442673#msg442673

If you don't have better hardware and you want bitcoins, just buy them at one of the markets.

Also, next time you can just ask. Looks like you spent a lot of time before coming here.
XSpanded
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 12:56:57 PM
 #3

I only read half of your post, but:

Mining with a CPU is not worth it. Mining with a Compaq Presario V2000 is almost impossible.

Your laptop CPU is too slow and you will probably never earn anything (not even bitcents). It will take you forever just to submit one share. Use a good GPU and you will earn something. See this post for more details: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=35906.msg442673#msg442673

If you don't have better hardware and you want bitcoins, just buy them at one of the markets.

Also, next time you can just ask. Looks like you spent a lot of time before coming here.

What are the chances of running puddinpop’s CPU/4way/CUDA/OpenCL Miner with kiv's guiminer.exe backed up with A Ramdisk?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!