Bitcoin Forum
October 15, 2018, 04:15:24 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Testing OC  (Read 666 times)
SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 11:15:18 AM
 #1

To test the overclock of a mining card do you just increase the clocks and run GUIMiner (or other mining app) until it crashes, and then reduce the clock frequency or increase voltage?

MERITT   P  R  O  T  O  C  O  L   ❱❱    WHITEPAPER
Decentralized Fundraising & Token Issuance

███████   TWITTER               BITCOINTALK               TELEGRAM   ███████
1539620124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539620124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539620124
Reply with quote  #2

1539620124
Report to moderator
1539620124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539620124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539620124
Reply with quote  #2

1539620124
Report to moderator
1539620124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539620124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539620124
Reply with quote  #2

1539620124
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539620124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539620124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539620124
Reply with quote  #2

1539620124
Report to moderator
1539620124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539620124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539620124
Reply with quote  #2

1539620124
Report to moderator
stryker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 06:39:59 PM
 #2

when u find the cards Mhz ceiling then raising the voltage can raise the "ceiling" tho you want to think real hard b4 raising the stock voltages.... its the one thing that "could" damage your card plus it can seriously raise the number of watts your card draws....

remember with raising the voltage its all about doing so in very, very small increments say .005

HTH

                    ░███▄
                   ░██████
                    ▀████▀
    
    ░▄███▒          ▒███▄▒
    ░█████▒         █████▒
    ░█████▒         █████▒
    ░█████▒         █████▒
    ░█████▒         █████▒
    ░█████▒  ▄██▄   █████▒
    ░█████▒ ██████ ░█████▒
    ░█████▒  ████▀ ░█████▒
     ▒██████▄    ▄██████▒▒
      ░████████████████▒▒
        ░███████████▒▒▒
            ░▀▀▀▀▀▀
KuBitX████████
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██████
██  ██████
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
██  ██
████████
Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1006



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 06:51:12 PM
 #3

for my 5850s, increasing 0.01v = additional 30w pulled from the wall.
don't increase it too much. it'll be less cost-efficient.

honolululu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 11, 2011, 07:19:21 AM
 #4

You may even consider lowering the voltage.

Some cards net more money stock clocks and undervolted, some net more money overclocked and stock voltage, etc...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!