Bitcoin Forum
May 28, 2017, 08:33:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Issue detecting 2nd GPU on Linux Miner  (Read 1006 times)
MinerNiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 04:06:04 PM
 #1

Hello,

I had my rig setup and working successfully with two 5830's running on Ubuntu mostly following the Natty Narwhal Mining Guide http://bitcointalk.org/?topic=7514.0. I was getting close to 285 mh/s per GPU and seeming like things were going smooth. Following a sudden power outage in the house, I've been having difficulty getting the second card to be fully detected or mine.

Both cards work independently if I place them in the 1st PCIe slot, but neither work if in the 2nd.

lspci | grep VGA detects the following:
Quote
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 5800 Series (Cypress LE)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 5800 Series (Cypress LE)

aticonfig --list-adapters detects the following:
Quote
* 0. 01:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
  1. 02:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

* - Default adapter

Yet aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all only works on the first GPU:
Quote
Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 76.00 C
ERROR - Get temperature failed for Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

And when I try to use -d 2 for poclbm to start mining I get the following:
Quote
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following

  •      AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor
  • [1]     Cypress
Any suggestions on how to resolve or ways to confirm it is / is not a hardware issue would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
1496003628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496003628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496003628
Reply with quote  #2

1496003628
Report to moderator
1496003628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496003628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496003628
Reply with quote  #2

1496003628
Report to moderator
1496003628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496003628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496003628
Reply with quote  #2

1496003628
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1496003628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496003628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496003628
Reply with quote  #2

1496003628
Report to moderator
1496003628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496003628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496003628
Reply with quote  #2

1496003628
Report to moderator
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 654



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 06:34:14 PM
 #2

as it followed a power outage, i recommend swapping the cards around and seeing whether it's the card or the second slot that's the problem.

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
MinerNiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 06:50:28 PM
 #3

as it followed a power outage, i recommend swapping the cards around and seeing whether it's the card or the second slot that's the problem.

I have done so and both cards work in the first slot. What I (and the few of the people in the ArsBitCoinPool IRC) found strange is that the basic detections show the second slot and the video card in it - but specific actions like get / set the fanspeed generate the errors.
bcforum
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 06:57:01 PM
 #4


Does youre xorg.conf file list both adapters? I think the command is "aticonfig --initial --adapter=all" to create a default xorg.conf file.

If you found this post useful, feel free to share the wealth: 1E35gTBmJzPNJ3v72DX4wu4YtvHTWqNRbM
MinerNiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 02:15:08 AM
 #5

Does youre xorg.conf file list both adapters? I think the command is "aticonfig --initial --adapter=all" to create a default xorg.conf file.

Indirectly, this did help me solve my problem. There were a number of different xorg.conf files in the /etc/X11/ folder and after removing them, re-creating a new one and rebooting it is now operational again. Another issue that I noticed in swapping the cards was that two of the wires from the motherboard were bumping up against the fan of the second GPU which could have led to a long-term problem down the road.

Thanks for help all!
bcforum
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 03:39:04 AM
 #6


aticonfig creates a backup copy every time it runs, only 'xorg.conf' exactly is important.

Good catch on the wire, I had that problem and it showed up as abnormally high temps on one adapter.

You might also enjoy: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=33550.msg419241#msg419241

If you found this post useful, feel free to share the wealth: 1E35gTBmJzPNJ3v72DX4wu4YtvHTWqNRbM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!