Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 01:56:27 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Cannot use my 5870? (SDK-problem?)  (Read 1575 times)
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 07:41:50 PM
 #21

I can feel your pain. I had lots of trouble with Windows too but managed to get it working eventually. Get every single bit of AMD/ATI software erased off the system, reboot copious numbers of times, uninstall display adapter from the control panel, reboot again copiously, then install the full package (10.7). Reboot again ad lib. That's what got my system going. (I still switched to Linux eventually - much easier to configure, plus I can monitor the mining rig remotely, alter it on-the-fly and restart it if I need to).

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
1481291787
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291787

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291787
Reply with quote  #2

1481291787
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 08:30:29 PM
 #22

I can feel your pain. I had lots of trouble with Windows too but managed to get it working eventually. Get every single bit of AMD/ATI software erased off the system, reboot copious numbers of times, uninstall display adapter from the control panel, reboot again copiously, then install the full package (10.7). Reboot again ad lib. That's what got my system going. (I still switched to Linux eventually - much easier to configure, plus I can monitor the mining rig remotely, alter it on-the-fly and restart it if I need to).

Thanks, that post really made me motivated. Tomorrow I will give the card a couple of hours.

Linux or Windows? That's the question. I think I will use windows at this rig, because it is my main rig, which I use for work, and I am way mor comfortable in a windows environment. But if I'm building a new rig, dedicated to mining, it will definitely run linux to prevent unnecessary problems.

Thanks again for the post! Btw, what does "ad lib" mean?
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 11:03:33 PM
 #23

Thanks again for the post! Btw, what does "ad lib" mean?

You're welcome.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ad_libitum (basically "as much as you want")

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 04:24:49 PM
 #24

Thanks again for the post! Btw, what does "ad lib" mean?

You're welcome.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ad_libitum (basically "as much as you want")

Thanks!

Now I have realised what the problem is. The SDK isn't compatible with my display drivers. Therefore I need the latest display drivers, and so I installed them. The new problem is that the latest driver isn't "digitally signed", so my OS (Windows 7 64 bit) won't let me use the driver. So I am now trying to sign the driver, but I don't think it works. Damn, why can't ATI just digitally sign there drivers like Nvidia? I read that it was quiet expensive to sign drivers from miucrosoft, but come on, ati is a big corp. WTF?

Does anyone know how to get signed drivers for my radeon 5870?
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 04:29:08 PM
 #25


Does anyone know how to get signed drivers for my radeon 5870?

I think you're downloading the wrong driver. The latest catalyst 11.7 from AMD's web site is digitally signed. I had no trouble installing it on win7 64-bit. It's this one: http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx (direct download link http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-7_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl.exe)

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 04:38:19 PM
 #26

I will give it one last try with the drivers that the guy above posted.

I just realised that the drivers you posted is exactly the ones I have tried to install for at least 10 times.  Angry  Cry

I am quite sure that the problem is that windows won't let me install the driver because its not signed.
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 04:44:31 PM
 #27

Hm, my ikd druver that came with the card on a CD works, but the SDK won't install because it says that my display driver won't work because it's too old and not compatible with openCL.

I will try to install the old drivers, and then only update the display driver, and then install the SDK. Hope that works!
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 05:57:32 PM
 #28

Are you sure you don't have some malware on your computer?

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!