Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:08:04 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Cannot use my 5870? (SDK-problem?)  (Read 1574 times)
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 05:24:25 PM
 #1

Hi!

I have just installed my drivers for a 5870, but my mining-program (GUIminer) cannot find the graficcard. I have no idea what the problem is, do you?
Once a transaction has 6 confirmations, it is extremely unlikely that an attacker without at least 50% of the network's computation power would be able to reverse it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481249284
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249284

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249284
Reply with quote  #2

1481249284
Report to moderator
Emrox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 05:30:56 PM
 #2

ok, some answers needed:

what driver version are you using (e.g. 11.6 or 11.7?)?
is a monitor plugged into that very card?
have you installed the needed SDK from AMD and have you ensured it works properly with your driver version?

(I guess some research on your own would have let you to this questions aswell Wink )

2x 5850, 1x 5870, 1x 5970 @Win7x64  // ~2 GH/s
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 05:48:10 PM
 #3

Yes, a monitor is plugged in. In fact, it is the only card I am using.

I read something about ATI Stream, and I am continuing looking for solutions.

I think the problem is that I haven't installed the ATI Stream SDK... I tried to installed it, but I don't know if it works. I am going to restart the computer and try again...

EDIT: Now I am updating my drivers to the graficcard, I hope that helps!
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 07:44:29 PM
 #4

Now I've reinstalled my drivers. Now I have Catalyst Control Center 11.7. I also installed the opencl-drivers, but it still doesn't work. Can some one please help me? I will donate coins for solutions that make me able to mine with my 5870. Please!

I am using GUIminer, and right now I can only se me CPU and not my graficcard.

EDIT: I will donate money for help!
myb87
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 09:33:16 PM
 #5

did you install AMD APP SDK? http://developer.amd.com/sdks/amdappsdk/downloads/pages/default.aspx
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 09:51:30 PM
 #6


Yes, and I checked with a program and it says "penCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (684.213) FULL_PROFILE". That must be the right SDK?

Wierd...

Edit: I should maybe tell you that I hade a nvidia 560Ti before, but I uninstalled the drivers. But that card did show up in the GUImining.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 09:54:43 PM
 #7

It should be enough to install the latest Catalyst (full package including OpenCL). I run on Windows 7, Red Hat Linux and Ubuntu Linux, with only plain Catalyst installed.

Which operating system are you using?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 10:00:51 PM
 #8

It should be enough to install the latest Catalyst (full package including OpenCL). I run on Windows 7, Red Hat Linux and Ubuntu Linux, with only plain Catalyst installed.

Which operating system are you using?


I use Windows 7 64-bit. The really weird thing is when I download and installed the complete package the drivers get weird. The screen-size becomes relly "zoomed". Hm?
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 10:42:43 PM
 #9

I use Windows 7 64-bit. The really weird thing is when I download and installed the complete package the drivers get weird. The screen-size becomes relly "zoomed". Hm?

I have had a similar problem with a 6850. With the latest catalyst 10.7 when using either digital output (HDMI or DVI) the image generated has a black border on the monitor - it doesn't extend to the edges of the monitor, even though the monitor says it's in the correct scan mode (1920x1080). No amount of removing and reinstalling the driver fixed this. The only way I found to have the image fill the monitor at the same resolution is to use a DVI/VGA adapter and monitor's VGA input. The previous catalyst (10.6) didn't have this problem.

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 11:06:57 PM
 #10

Now I have fixed the problems with the resolution, and I am still running Catalyst 11.7. I have also installed the SDK AMD APP SDK v2.5, but the damn card is not showing up in my GUImining. Any ideas?
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 12:41:10 AM
 #11

Nope, sorry.

I for one have decided not to put up with Windows crap anymore and have moved all my mining to Linux. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28967.0

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 10:22:48 AM
 #12

Ok, I am going to download the linux-thingy and try with that. The only bad thing is that I prefer windows. Crap!
Mushoz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Bitbuy


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2011, 11:18:37 AM
 #13

-Uninstall the drivers from add/remove programs
-Reboot
-Uninstall any SDK currently installed
-Reboot
-Download driver sweeper: http://phyxion.net/item/driver-sweeper.html
-Clean out all Ati/AMD drivers with driver sweeper
-Reboot
-Install the latest WHQL CCC package downloaded directly from AMD
-Reboot

Should work!

www.bitbuy.nl - Koop eenvoudig, snel en goedkoop bitcoins bij Bitbuy!
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 04:30:33 PM
 #14

-Uninstall the drivers from add/remove programs
-Reboot
-Uninstall any SDK currently installed
-Reboot
-Download driver sweeper: http://phyxion.net/item/driver-sweeper.html
-Clean out all Ati/AMD drivers with driver sweeper
-Reboot
-Install the latest WHQL CCC package downloaded directly from AMD
-Reboot

Should work!

Thanks, I did exactly that, but it didn't work, so I tried to install the drivers in safe mode, but without sucess.

I got an error-message after installing the drivers in normal mode: "No ATI graphics driver is installed, or the ATI driver is not functioning". WTF? So now my computer is acting like I have no drivers.

Now I am going to sweep the drivers and install the drivers from the CD that works. Does anyone know where I can download a ATI SDK wich works with Catalyst 11.7? Help that fixes my problem will be appreciated, and I will donate! Smiley
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 04:47:49 PM
 #15

Now I've sweeped all my old drivers and installed the ones that comes with the graficcard on the CD. The drivers work properly, but the ATI Stream SDK (openCL) doesn't work. Therefore I can't mine Sad

Is it possible to only download the ATI Stream SDK? Because now everything works except the openCL...

EDIT: Now I've found a SDK (2.1), but it says "the display driver installed on this system does not have opencl support for amd gpus...". So, my display driver doesn't support the SDK, what should I do? When I download and install the latest ATI-bundle it says something like "There is no driver, or it is not installed the right way". Hm? Is there a way to install/update only the display driver and nothing else?
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 07:00:13 PM
 #16

I raged and now I am giving away the card, damn I hate ATI!  Cry
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 07:03:06 PM
 #17

I raged and now I am giving away the card, damn I hate ATI!  Cry
Don't give up, is the card new? It could be faulty and you might want to get it exchanged if possible.

Raeldi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 07:09:55 PM
 #18

I had the exact same problem. First I obviously updated the drivers, but rebooting and everything else still didn't fix it after that. Then I simply reinstalled the miner and it worked perfectly.

1516rnmGUDeF4vyBX3NDR5eXd22yKZdPHR
orren
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 07:13:46 PM
 #19

I had the exact same problem. First I obviously updated the drivers, but rebooting and everything else still didn't fix it after that. Then I simply reinstalled the miner and it worked perfectly.

Damn, now I have changed my card back to my old 560. Before everything I could at least mine with the 560, but now I can't. I am going to reinstall the miner. If that works, I will give the 5870 1 last chance tomorrow.  

EDIT: Why is Nvidia-card so much worse att mining than ATI-cards?

EDIT2: Now I can use my nvidia-card! I am hoping that was the problem with the ATI-card, I really hope. Let's try tomorrow, now I am feeling very angry for all the affort.
Raeldi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 07:18:08 PM
 #20

I had the exact same problem. First I obviously updated the drivers, but rebooting and everything else still didn't fix it after that. Then I simply reinstalled the miner and it worked perfectly.

Damn, now I have changed my card back to my old 560. Before everything I could at least mine with the 560, but now I can't. I am going to reinstall the miner. If that works, I will give the 5870 1 last chance tomorrow.  

EDIT: Why is Nvidia-card so much worse att mining than ATI-cards?

EDIT2: Now I can use my nvidia-card! I am hoping that was the problem with the ATI-card, I really hope. Let's try tomorrow, now I am feeling very angry for all the affort.

Haha, good luck then tomorrow!

1516rnmGUDeF4vyBX3NDR5eXd22yKZdPHR
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!