Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:32:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows users: does 0.3.20.01 work for you?  (Read 1630 times)
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2011, 01:36:25 PM
 #1

The only thing stopping me from announcing 0.3.20 "Final!" is confirmation from Windows users that switching to the mingw build process fixed the rendering issues.

So:  if you're a Windows bitcoin user, please install the latest 0.3.20 from SourceForge and let me know how it works for you.

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
1481121179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121179
Reply with quote  #2

1481121179
Report to moderator
1481121179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121179
Reply with quote  #2

1481121179
Report to moderator
1481121179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121179
Reply with quote  #2

1481121179
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481121179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121179
Reply with quote  #2

1481121179
Report to moderator
1481121179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121179
Reply with quote  #2

1481121179
Report to moderator
ronaldmaustin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
February 19, 2011, 01:54:06 PM
 #2

I never did get my siren feature when I have found a block Angry  But thank you for all of your efforts in producing this  Kiss  Furthermore,  Grin Grin
LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Satoshi everywhere!


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2011, 01:56:31 PM
 #3

It seems to work, but I think that we need more time for tests.

"Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment." © S3052
bossweld
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2011, 03:08:25 PM
 #4

0.3.20.01 runs fine for me.

FYI I successfully built 0.3.20.00 using VC10 on my Windows machine, and haven't been able to reproduce the same WxWidgets problem that the build from the Amazon EC2 windows virtual machine had. So far.

Library versions I built with:

Berkeley DB 4.7.25.NC (projects converted to VC10)
OpenSSL 0.9.8r
Boost 1.43.0
WxWidgets 2.9.1

I'll try to match the OpenSSL and Boost versions more exactly up to the virtual machine build, but the other two libraries match.


http://amygda.la
w8ks6
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
February 19, 2011, 03:28:18 PM
 #5


Thank you for your work, Gavin.

Appears to work well, but i still get the wxWidgets debug alert on Win7x64
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2011, 05:53:52 PM
 #6

Appears to work well, but i still get the wxWidgets debug alert on Win7x64

Did you get a debug alert with bitcoin 0.3.19 or earlier?
And could you post a screen snapshot (or, even better, file an issue at https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/issues )?

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
February 21, 2011, 04:22:29 PM
 #7

Yes, the weird UI problem is gone now. It wasn't that big of a deal, but every now and again I would forget and be unable to find the addresses button. Thanks, Gavin.
Amso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
February 21, 2011, 04:46:38 PM
 #8

Sorry, I would like to help testing 0.3.20, but I have a couple of silly questions.

Do i have to uninstall the 0.3.19 first?

If things go wrong with 0.3.20, would my wallet still be save?

Thanks.
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
February 21, 2011, 05:14:40 PM
 #9

I'd recommend uninstalling 0.3.19 first. You can make a backup of your wallet in case anything goes bad. Just copy %AppData%\Bitcoin\wallet.dat somewhere safe and encrypt it if possible.
Blitz­
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596


"Cut Your Loose"


View Profile
February 21, 2011, 05:15:40 PM
 #10

Uhm, what kind of rendering issues? I’m using 0.3.20 on Windows for a while now and haven’t noticed any problems at all.

"Bitcoin had been transformed from an anarachistic challenge to the financial status quo, to the crypto spawn of Satan, fuelled by cut-throat greed and delusions of avarice." - MatTheCat
"these people don't seem to want to stop till Bitcoin is completely destroyed and left like an old cum rag in the corner of the room." - ShroomsKit
Binford 6100
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


PGP OTC WOT: EB7FCE3D


View Profile
February 26, 2011, 12:48:30 AM
 #11

I'd recommend uninstalling 0.3.19 first.

i used the .zip distribution of 0.3.19 and that one has no uninstall. but it is in  c:/tools/bitcoin-0.3.19
so installing the new version into c:/tools/bitcoin-0.3.20 did not cause any conflicts with having both versions on the pc in the same time.
the idea is to have a bitcoin directory with a simlink to the latest version at the same place but being able to point it to a newer version when available.

my only 'negative' comment: it did not rescan the blockchain on start up (or i did not figure out how to use it)
- i've copied a different wallet into AppData/Roaming/Bitcoin folder and started the client
- it showed a high number of blocks, this i understood as the client having access to blockchain downloaded by the previous client
- the balance in client was not the same as client expected (and confirmed by blockexplorer)

could it be possible to drop last X blocks from the chain in order to save myself downloding the whole blockchain? p.ex. delete last 100 blocks and download them again. or a button to trigger rescan manually in the future?

or hint how to use the rescan feature on windows?

 Thanks a lot for your work!

You can't build a reputation on what you are going to do.
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
February 26, 2011, 01:11:57 AM
 #12

Use the -rescan switch.

path-to-bitcoin\Bitcoin.exe -rescan
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
February 26, 2011, 01:41:51 AM
 #13

The only thing stopping me from announcing 0.3.20 "Final!" is confirmation from Windows users that switching to the mingw build process fixed the rendering issues.

So:  if you're a Windows bitcoin user, please install the latest 0.3.20 from SourceForge and let me know how it works for you.

official build 0.3.20.01 works fine for me on win7 64-bit.
but I haven't tested any of the new features yet.

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
Binford 6100
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


PGP OTC WOT: EB7FCE3D


View Profile
February 26, 2011, 02:56:12 AM
 #14

Use the -rescan switch.

path-to-bitcoin\Bitcoin.exe -rescan

how stupid am I ?

thank you very much!

edit: works as expected

You can't build a reputation on what you are going to do.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!