Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:55:55 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New machine setup...  (Read 1095 times)
omerioun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 07:03:07 PM
 #1

.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 07:23:54 PM
 #2

Like the idea of doing Quad crossfireX (2x 6990s) but the equivelant Nvidias seem to be better value even if hash processing falls so I am on the fence here.
nvidia is out of the question if you're going to have it as a part time mining rig. with the current difficulty and profit, don't bother mining if you decide to go with nvidia. and as a gaming rig, quad crossfire doesn't scale as well. seems like money isn't an issue, so i would just get a single 6990 or 2x 6970.

32gb of memory is just absurd. what programs will you be running? unless you'll be doing a lot of VM stuff, 32gb of system memory is way overkill, and it will probably throw off system stability.

cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 08:04:59 PM
 #3

32gb of system memory is way overkill, and it will probably throw off system stability.

Why would this effect system stability?  A bad DIMM perhaps, but as long as the OS can address all the memory there should be no stability hit..

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 08:34:33 PM
 #4

32gb of system memory is way overkill, and it will probably throw off system stability.

Why would this effect system stability?  A bad DIMM perhaps, but as long as the OS can address all the memory there should be no stability hit..
even when going from 4gb to 8gb, system stability is affected when overclocking the CPU and/or memory. now 32gb is 4 times this much, i can't imagine it wouldn't affect stability, even when not overclocking. and on top of that, Z68 chipsets only has 4 slots for memory, so to get 32gb, you need extremely high density memory sticks. currently, there's only a few models of 8gb memory sticks, which are at premium prices right now. i'm almost certain it's not possible to populate all 4 slots with 8gb density sticks, but it would be a nice $800 experiment.

dovewing2000
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 08:56:21 PM
 #5

are these parts already bought?
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 08:57:34 PM
 #6

using a somewhat outdated x58 chipset you could easily get 32gb of memory that or a server grade motherboard. Nvidia cards are no good as haploid said. for gaming that machine sounds like overkill but typical the goal of high end. for mining some of the choices are simply silly but since this is dual purpouse ...

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 09:02:59 PM
 #7

even when going from 4gb to 8gb, system stability is affected when overclocking the CPU and/or memory.

I admit it's been a while since I've messed with CPU overclocking but that's really the first I've ever heard of such a thing.  From what I do understand of modern memory controllers, specifically their decoupling of CPU/memory clocks and voltages, I can't see why it would be a problem.  Whatever, OT.

I can say if you're building a gaming machine, build a gaming machine.  Unless you're mining on it 24/7 it's not going to pay for itself anytime soon, and from the specs it sounds like you've got a bit of cash to throw at it.  There's nothing more disappointing than going 'budget' or making compromises when you don't need to.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 09:10:04 PM
 #8

It's best to use 2 RAM modules on a dual channel board or 3 modules on X58. Adding more modules puts more stress on the IMC and can easily force you to lower your CPU overclock to get it stable.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 09:14:14 PM
 #9

gaming and flamboyant computer expenses are surely to suffer from now on rofl

Well congrats, and if I can give you some advice - put that money in a college fund instead.  You'll thank yourself so hard in 18 years you'll knock a hole in your chest from patting yourself on the back.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 09:20:26 PM
 #10

ok OP, based on your last post, it looks like money IS a factor. ditch the 6990, it's hard to find and also overpriced, get two 6970 instead and crossfire them. and i asked earlier, what are you going to be doing with the computer to be wanting 32gb of memory? what makes you think windows will hog 32gb of memory for itself? i bet you won't even use over 8gb for gaming, mining, and general daily usage. do you wallet a favor and grab 2x4gb for $50 instead

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104266

Zncon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 09:27:09 PM
 #11

IMO 32gb sounds nice, but you're going to end up sacrificing speed to hit that. I think you'd be better off with 8gb or 16gb and some 7-7-7 (or faster) chips.

SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 09:36:35 PM
 #12

First of all, Windows hoarding memory is a GREAT thing.  It does cool stuff like that to prefetch commonly used software and programs, which means they launch much more quickly.  The more RAM Windows uses, the more responsive your system is going to be.

Secondly, Zncon, ram speeds have virtually nothing to do with performance, unless all of your other equipment is very high end.  The only place you'll find an improvement is in synthetic benchmarks.  Always go for more RAM GB than higher RAM speeds.

Thirdly, if you're going to be mining at all, I would definitely go with the ATI cards.  NVIDIA cards may be a slightly better value for gaming, but all of that value would be lost in just a month of mining.  NVIDIA cards would lose more in electricity than you would gain by mining, so if you want to mine, you can't go NVIDIA, or you will lose money the moment you start mining.

Fourthly, the OP didn't say anything about overclocking, so I don't know why you all are concerned about how he might have to lower his overclock to use more RAM.

viper, my recommendation is to go with the CPU/motherboard you specified, don't go for 32GB of RAM (as others pointed out, you would need very expensive high-density sticks to do so), but 16GB would be nice (8GB will start bottlenecking general system performance in the near future), and go with an ATI card since you want to mine.
Zncon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2011, 09:51:51 PM
 #13

I have one game which I play where the difference between 7-7-7 and 9-9-9 has an effect on the game... Dwarf Fortress!

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 02:24:05 AM
 #14

yes crossfire decreases mining performance. but if you're only mining casually and your primary focus is games i wouldn't worry about it too much

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
dovewing2000
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 06:54:10 AM
 #15

unless ur going with SSD that's on sale/rebate (making it around $1 a Gb)... ur better off using a laptop drive (ie momentus XT: which is a great hybrid drive that has performance similar to ssd but also have large capacity) or you can always buy 16Gb that has fast write to just run minning off it...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!