Bitcoin Forum
December 01, 2021, 10:45:53 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Vega 56 minimum system requirements for mining ?  (Read 138 times)
gameboy366
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 8


View Profile
May 08, 2018, 05:51:23 AM
Last edit: May 08, 2018, 08:08:00 AM by gameboy366
 #1

Can I mine on pc with intel e2180 dual core 2.0 and 4 gb ram on intel dg31pr and CoolerMaster MWE 450 (450w) 80+  ?
I have a single msi vega 56 air boost which I not attached yet as it says on packaging minimum 8gb ram and 650w psu is required. I will not use it for gaming.
My PSU has 2 6+2 pin on same cord and yes my MoBo has PCI-E x16 and x1. I will plug it in x16
1638355553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638355553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638355553
Reply with quote  #2

1638355553
Report to moderator
1638355553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638355553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638355553
Reply with quote  #2

1638355553
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638355553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638355553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638355553
Reply with quote  #2

1638355553
Report to moderator
Geraldo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 272


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


View Profile
May 08, 2018, 07:50:27 AM
 #2

As long as your Motherboards has a compatible socket for your cards (PCIe socket), you can be installing those Vega 56 on your board, and you can mine with it. One other important thing is PSUs, wattage and your card also need an excellent efficiency PSU's to handle it. Your 450 Watt (80+) is fine for idle  Grin, but for mining, you need more wattage (since you are using Vega 56). You can force using that PSU but isn't safe.
vuli1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 240
Merit: 3


View Profile WWW
May 08, 2018, 07:58:55 AM
 #3

yea, that 450W psu will not last long. If you have a watt meter device, you can setup it and play a liitle with powersaving mods.

★ PRiVCY ➢ Own Your Privacy! ➢ Best privacy crypto-market! ★
✈✈✈[PoW/PoS]✅[Tor]✅[Airdrop]✈✈✈ (https://privcy.io/)
duyquang06
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 08, 2018, 06:18:23 PM
 #4

Can I mine on pc with intel e2180 dual core 2.0 and 4 gb ram on intel dg31pr and CoolerMaster MWE 450 (450w) 80+  ?
I have a single msi vega 56 air boost which I not attached yet as it says on packaging minimum 8gb ram and 650w psu is required. I will not use it for gaming.
My PSU has 2 6+2 pin on same cord and yes my MoBo has PCI-E x16 and x1. I will plug it in x16

u must be kidding me. Mining is about running your card 24/24 and you think that office PSU can handle the Vega56 beast with 2 x 8 pin Huh
gameboy366
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 8


View Profile
May 08, 2018, 08:01:00 PM
 #5

Just wanted to know if it is possible. I will order bigger PSU in a few days. CoolerMaster psu calculater says I need 430w psu with my setup.
Geraldo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 272


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


View Profile
May 09, 2018, 02:57:35 AM
 #6

Just wanted to know if it is possible. I will order bigger PSU in a few days. CoolerMaster psu calculater says I need 430w psu with my setup.

You can force to use current PSU as I said above. You need to tweak your card to do mining with your current PSU, but even with tweaking your card, it isn't safe with that PSU wattage.

Yeah, that was a good idea, ordering PSU with more bigger wattage.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!