Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:34:02 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Error while GUI is running  (Read 4111 times)
Widgets
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 02:13:46 AM
 #1

Seems about every hour I get an error on the GUI BitMinter v1.0 beta.

2011.08.11 [12:55]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [12:55]  Long poll: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [13:58]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [13:58]  Long poll: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [14:58]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [14:58]  Long poll: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [15:58]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [15:58]  Long poll: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [16:58]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [16:58]  Long poll: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [18:08]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [18:08]  Long poll: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [19:08]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [19:08]  Long poll: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [19:28]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [19:28]  Fetching more work failed: Connection timed out: connect
2011.08.11 [20:08]  Fetching more work failed: Read timed out
2011.08.11 [20:08]  Long poll: Read timed out

I have no idea what is causing this. Looks like it is having problems communicating with the server but my network is rock solid with everything else that is internet relient, not a lot but enough to know it is not the connection on my side.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
Widgets
1481402042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402042
Reply with quote  #2

1481402042
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2011, 02:18:02 AM
 #2

What are you trying to connect to? What is your hash rate? And are you connecting through any kind of NAT or proxy?

My guess would be you have some kind of NAT device that is timing out 'inactive' connections.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Widgets
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 02:29:46 AM
 #3

I have no idea what it is trying to connect to...the server to get more work units I assume.

Only NAT device I have is a router and its never caused issues with other bitminers before, not sure why it would now.
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2011, 04:01:07 AM
 #4

"The server" meaning what? What server? A pooled mining controller? A local instance of pushpool?

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Widgets
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 02:50:34 PM
 #5

"The server" is what ever bitminter.com uses to talk to the BitMinter v1.0 beta GUI.
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2011, 03:16:49 PM
 #6

Then there are three likely possibilities:

1) The program is looking for the wrong server name or port.

2) Something is preventing the program from connecting to the server, such as a firewall.

3) The server is down.

I am an employee of Ripple.
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 03:19:56 PM
 #7

You could try message the developer/pool owner DrHaribo
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=29380

Already post this thread in his pool thread but it might take a while for him to come online and see it.

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2011, 09:32:18 PM
 #8

Thanks, Xephan!

The timeouts are really nothing to worry about as long as the miner is still doing work. You can see in the lower right of the window how many "work units" it has currently.

The long poll will just reconnect if it times out, so there's nothing to worry about. But I agree the messages are annoying. I guess some of the timeout values are set a little low - I'll address this in a later version of the miner.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
jmlm-1970
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 06:09:40 PM
 #9

Most likely the solution for some URL return timeout error is in firewall settings.

Just disable the following, in firewal preferences (menu Edit/Preferences/Advanced Options):

block broadcasts from external network
block broadcasts from internal network
block traffic from reserved addresses on public interfaces

Have fun,
João Moreira.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!