Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 08:16:21 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 + 5850 won't work together  (Read 1492 times)
SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 05:24:22 AM
 #1

I put my 5850 into the top PCIE slot (slot 1) and the 5970 into the lower slot (slot 2) on my P8P67 Pro.

I plugged the monitor into the 5970 and nothing comes up on the screen. I plugged the monitor into the 5850 and it works fine. I then removed both cards and put the 5970 into slot 1 and it worked fine. How can I get both cards to work on the same motherboard? I haven't tried to Crossfire them.

Putting the 5970 into slot 1 with the 5850 into slot 2 isn't going to work because the 5970 is a triple slot card.

When I had both cards in at the same time I tried plugging a monitor into the 5970 to see if it would work and it won't work.
1480709781
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480709781

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480709781
Reply with quote  #2

1480709781
Report to moderator
1480709781
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480709781

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480709781
Reply with quote  #2

1480709781
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480709781
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480709781

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480709781
Reply with quote  #2

1480709781
Report to moderator
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
August 12, 2011, 05:31:48 AM
 #2

you didn't get display because usually the bios is set to display the primary pci-e (top one) first. some motherboards have the option to change the order of displayed graphics, some don't. i don't personally have that motherboard, so i can't tell you if it does or doesn't, so you might want to check in the bios for that option. just leave the 5850 in the first top slot and the 5970 in the bottom one with a dummy plug plugged into it, boot into windows and see if there are 3 GPUs in the device manager. it doesn't necessary have to display something on the monitor for it to be working.

SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 05:49:53 AM
 #3

I want the 5970 connected to a monitor so I can use that for gaming. I'll see what my BIOS can do in terms of getting it to run off the bottom card.
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
August 12, 2011, 06:31:49 AM
 #4

hmm then you're going to have to make a sacrifice somewhere. how is the 5970 a triple slot card? does it have a accelero cooler on it? but even if it does, that aus P8P67 Pro can still accomodate two triple slots cards. there are 2 slots between the 1st pci-e and 2nd pci-e, everything should fit. unless you want to leave an additional slot for breathing room beneath the 5970 if it were to be in the top slot?

SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 08:10:40 AM
 #5

hmm then you're going to have to make a sacrifice somewhere. how is the 5970 a triple slot card? does it have a accelero cooler on it? but even if it does, that aus P8P67 Pro can still accomodate two triple slots cards. there are 2 slots between the 1st pci-e and 2nd pci-e, everything should fit. unless you want to leave an additional slot for breathing room beneath the 5970 if it were to be in the top slot?

The 5970 has an Accelero cooler on it and I can't fit a dual slot card in the bottom PCIE slot because my case doesn't allow it. I'll have to bust out an angle grinder and grind out part of my case to do that.

The only way I've managed to get the 2 cards to work is to Crossfire them. Yes, I know that this will cause a decrease in my hash rate.

I don't think my motherboard has the option to change the primary display card as I've had a good look through the BIOS and motherboard manual and can't find anything like that. I have tried connecting different monitors to each card and it will only display from the top card.
being
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 08:17:21 AM
 #6

You don't need to crossfire them.
Just enable the card from your OS. You just won't be seeing any picture from it on the bootup, since the other card is the main one.
SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 01:40:25 PM
 #7

You don't need to crossfire them.
Just enable the card from your OS. You just won't be seeing any picture from it on the bootup, since the other card is the main one.

I have connected my monitor to the top card (5850) and I have added the Crossfire bridge to connect it to the 5970. I now have my monitor working as it should and I disabled Crossfire in CCC.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!