Bitcoin Forum
March 28, 2017, 08:19:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Headless Linuxcoin script setup not working?  (Read 734 times)
xenon5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 09:05:51 PM
 #1

Hey everyone.  So I just put together my first mining rig yesterday and mostly everything is going pretty smoothly  Grin the only thing left to do is properly configure my miner to run headlessly.  I followed the guide here:

http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Headless_Linuxcoin

First I tried setting up the startminers.sh file exactly the first way specified, using ATIoverdriveCtrl.  I followed the rest of the guide to the T.  However, when I restarted my system, a blank terminal window popped up with just a white cursor block, then nothing happened.  The blank terminal window just remained open.

I tried making my own script using aticonfig and GUIMiner instead, but I'm having the same issue.

my /home/user/auto.sh and /home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop files look exactly the same as they do in the tutorial.

Here is what my custom /usr/local/bin/startminers.sh file looks like:

Quote
#!/bin/bash
sudo aticonfig --od-enable
sudo aticonfig --odsc="960,1200" --adapter=all
sudo aticonfig --odcc --adapter=all

gksu python /opt/miners/guiminer/guiminer.py

Is there something I'm missing?  Is there some other way to get my script to start after Linux boots?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490689193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490689193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490689193
Reply with quote  #2

1490689193
Report to moderator
1490689193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490689193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490689193
Reply with quote  #2

1490689193
Report to moderator
1490689193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490689193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490689193
Reply with quote  #2

1490689193
Report to moderator
xenon5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 11:00:21 PM
 #2

Thanks for the suggestion.  I tried adding DISPLAY=:0 where you suggested but the same thing is happening Sad

just so I'm clear, the file at /home/user/auto.h looks like this:
Quote
#!/bin/bash
xhost +
echo $DISPLAY > /home/user/.display
lxterminal --command "/usr/local/bin/startminers.sh"

and at /home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop, it looks like this:
Quote
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=coin
Exec=lxterminal --command "home/user/auto.sh"
Terminal=true
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 12:58:51 AM
 #3

Thanks for the suggestion.  I tried adding DISPLAY=:0 where you suggested but the same thing is happening Sad

just so I'm clear, the file at /home/user/auto.h looks like this:
Quote
#!/bin/bash
xhost +
echo $DISPLAY > /home/user/.display
lxterminal --command "/usr/local/bin/startminers.sh"

and at /home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop, it looks like this:
Quote
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=coin
Exec=lxterminal --command "home/user/auto.sh"
Terminal=true

There needs to be a "/" before home
Code:
Exec=lxterminal --command "/home/user/auto.sh"
And I'm assuming your "auto.h" is a typo and you really meant "auto.sh".

xenon5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 02:02:22 AM
 #4

Thanks for the suggestion.  I tried adding DISPLAY=:0 where you suggested but the same thing is happening Sad

just so I'm clear, the file at /home/user/auto.h looks like this:
Quote
#!/bin/bash
xhost +
echo $DISPLAY > /home/user/.display
lxterminal --command "/usr/local/bin/startminers.sh"

and at /home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop, it looks like this:
Quote
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=coin
Exec=lxterminal --command "home/user/auto.sh"
Terminal=true

There needs to be a "/" before home
Code:
Exec=lxterminal --command "/home/user/auto.sh"
And I'm assuming your "auto.h" is a typo and you really meant "auto.sh".
Thanks a lot, it works now!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!