Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 08:12:49 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Headless Linuxcoin script setup not working?  (Read 717 times)
xenon5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 09:05:51 PM
 #1

Hey everyone.  So I just put together my first mining rig yesterday and mostly everything is going pretty smoothly  Grin the only thing left to do is properly configure my miner to run headlessly.  I followed the guide here:

http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Headless_Linuxcoin

First I tried setting up the startminers.sh file exactly the first way specified, using ATIoverdriveCtrl.  I followed the rest of the guide to the T.  However, when I restarted my system, a blank terminal window popped up with just a white cursor block, then nothing happened.  The blank terminal window just remained open.

I tried making my own script using aticonfig and GUIMiner instead, but I'm having the same issue.

my /home/user/auto.sh and /home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop files look exactly the same as they do in the tutorial.

Here is what my custom /usr/local/bin/startminers.sh file looks like:

Quote
#!/bin/bash
sudo aticonfig --od-enable
sudo aticonfig --odsc="960,1200" --adapter=all
sudo aticonfig --odcc --adapter=all

gksu python /opt/miners/guiminer/guiminer.py

Is there something I'm missing?  Is there some other way to get my script to start after Linux boots?
1481443969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443969
Reply with quote  #2

1481443969
Report to moderator
1481443969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443969
Reply with quote  #2

1481443969
Report to moderator
1481443969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443969
Reply with quote  #2

1481443969
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481443969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443969
Reply with quote  #2

1481443969
Report to moderator
1481443969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443969
Reply with quote  #2

1481443969
Report to moderator
1481443969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443969
Reply with quote  #2

1481443969
Report to moderator
xenon5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 11:00:21 PM
 #2

Thanks for the suggestion.  I tried adding DISPLAY=:0 where you suggested but the same thing is happening Sad

just so I'm clear, the file at /home/user/auto.h looks like this:
Quote
#!/bin/bash
xhost +
echo $DISPLAY > /home/user/.display
lxterminal --command "/usr/local/bin/startminers.sh"

and at /home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop, it looks like this:
Quote
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=coin
Exec=lxterminal --command "home/user/auto.sh"
Terminal=true
pixilated8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 12:58:51 AM
 #3

Thanks for the suggestion.  I tried adding DISPLAY=:0 where you suggested but the same thing is happening Sad

just so I'm clear, the file at /home/user/auto.h looks like this:
Quote
#!/bin/bash
xhost +
echo $DISPLAY > /home/user/.display
lxterminal --command "/usr/local/bin/startminers.sh"

and at /home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop, it looks like this:
Quote
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=coin
Exec=lxterminal --command "home/user/auto.sh"
Terminal=true

There needs to be a "/" before home
Code:
Exec=lxterminal --command "/home/user/auto.sh"
And I'm assuming your "auto.h" is a typo and you really meant "auto.sh".

xenon5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 02:02:22 AM
 #4

Thanks for the suggestion.  I tried adding DISPLAY=:0 where you suggested but the same thing is happening Sad

just so I'm clear, the file at /home/user/auto.h looks like this:
Quote
#!/bin/bash
xhost +
echo $DISPLAY > /home/user/.display
lxterminal --command "/usr/local/bin/startminers.sh"

and at /home/user/.config/autostart/auto.desktop, it looks like this:
Quote
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=coin
Exec=lxterminal --command "home/user/auto.sh"
Terminal=true

There needs to be a "/" before home
Code:
Exec=lxterminal --command "/home/user/auto.sh"
And I'm assuming your "auto.h" is a typo and you really meant "auto.sh".
Thanks a lot, it works now!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!