Bitcoin Forum
March 24, 2017, 08:14:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU requirements for quad 6950?  (Read 600 times)
1905
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth.


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 06:54:01 PM
 #1

i have a antec 1200w psu. looking to upgrade mobo to GA-990FXA-UD7 and install 2 6950s on top of the 2 i already have. will my psu be able to support this. recommendations please?

Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth.

- Oscar Wilde
Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490386476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490386476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490386476
Reply with quote  #2

1490386476
Report to moderator
1490386476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490386476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490386476
Reply with quote  #2

1490386476
Report to moderator
1490386476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490386476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490386476
Reply with quote  #2

1490386476
Report to moderator
Beta-coiner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 08:40:37 PM
 #2

i have a antec 1200w psu. looking to upgrade mobo to GA-990FXA-UD7 and install 2 6950s on top of the 2 i already have. will my psu be able to support this. recommendations please?
It should enough,the 6950 is power efficient @ 150-200 watts load x 4=~ 800 watts.Only question would be do you plan on overclocking as those recommendations can certainly increase due to overclocked power requirements.

If you believe this post has helped,please donate-

1JfwAiV8WbT9HtmQVvnkJ6KwUy9gLjzxdK
1905
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth.


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 05:55:43 AM
 #3

overclocking power at 20% so 240w x 4? 960w? cpu = amd athlon II x2 255.3 3.1ghz 2mb, and 1 4gb stick of ddr3. will that be enough? also do i increase hashrate on my gpus by having a better cpu? if so is it sufficient? thx

Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth.

- Oscar Wilde
pitabread
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 06:30:29 AM
 #4

Should be good are you planning on jumping the pins to unlock it?

If anyone find my posts helpful donations are always welcomed.
113uFunxRWaxWwNadGUakee8dTJfPQyMJw
1905
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth.


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 03:07:33 AM
 #5

no i havnt looked into pin jumping or anything of the sort, i am overclocking using the standard ati software. where is the best place to read up on that at? and what would u recommend?

Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth.

- Oscar Wilde
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!