Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:21:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: poclbm autostart on Ubuntu 10.10? (30 BTC)  (Read 10780 times)
Fractality
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile WWW
February 22, 2011, 02:05:21 PM
 #1

Hi,

I offer 30BTC if somebody can help me to get poclbm to autostart. I already have bitcoind starting automatically, and poclbm works if I login on the mining computer and start it. Currently the environment variables for the Ati Stream SDK are only set for the user I login with.

However, I want it to run automatically when the PC boots up, without anybody logging in.

I have a Radeon 5970 card (2 GPUs).

Thanks!

1K4noMkNgrPztyqtHCYd2CevsZ72FeYUKF
1481185260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185260
Reply with quote  #2

1481185260
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Header-only clients like MultiBit trust that the majority of mining power is honest for the purposes of enforcing network rules such as the 21 million BTC limit. Full clients do not trust miners in this way.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481185260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185260
Reply with quote  #2

1481185260
Report to moderator
1481185260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185260
Reply with quote  #2

1481185260
Report to moderator
gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
February 22, 2011, 02:19:17 PM
 #2

I will take the job.
Do you wish the solution be posted public or private ?

If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2011, 02:25:03 PM
 #3

Posted. Wink

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 22, 2011, 02:29:30 PM
 #4

Any script that sets SDK library paths, DISPLAY=:0 and runs as root should do the trick.

edit:

Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/path/to/sdk:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
pocmldir/poclbm.py --parametes

Put the script is some file and  run it from /etc/rc.local

I'll test it and post it after I reboot the machine Smiley

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
February 22, 2011, 02:31:12 PM
 #5

OK, here we go.
You need to add your start command in /etc/init.d/rc.local

rc.local must be :

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/lib/x86
export DISPLAY=:0
/bitcoin-0.3.19/bin/32/bitcoind  >> bitcoind.log 2>&1 &
sleep 5
poclbm (options)   >> poclbm.log 2>&1 &


If that does not work (as in DiabloMiner) you need to call rc.local from a 2nd machine, like :

ssh 192.168.0.2 /etc/init.d/rc.local

where 192.168.0.2 is your ubuntu machine, and you already have passwordless auth between ubuntu and 2nd
machine.

If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
February 22, 2011, 02:32:33 PM
 #6

Any script that sets SDK library paths, DISPLAY=:0 and runs as root should do the trick.

Doing that only does not work with e.g. DiabloMiner
You need to call the start script from a 2nd. machine 

If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 22, 2011, 02:56:44 PM
 #7

Doing that only does not work with e.g. DiabloMiner
You need to call the start script from a 2nd. machine 

Original poster asked for poclbm.

I can only confirm that a script in /etc/rc.local that sets DISPLAY and SDK paths works. Just tested.

For two cores, one has to run each separately in background
Code:
./poclbm -d 1 -params > output1 2>&1 &
./poclbm -d 2 -params > output2 2>&1 &

The same script can set fan speed (which resets each Xorg restart).

 

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Fractality
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile WWW
February 22, 2011, 03:55:58 PM
 #8

Thanks, will try that later. I guess my question was a bit premature, as I had not even really tried a startup script. I first tried to start poclbm via ssh and it failed, so I just assumed the same problem would appear with autostart.

Any ideas what might be causing the problems with ssh?

Anyway, once I got it working (the autostart), I'll send the BTC.

Is there a straightforward way to turn the log file into a rotating log?

1K4noMkNgrPztyqtHCYd2CevsZ72FeYUKF
gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
February 22, 2011, 04:00:45 PM
 #9

Thanks, will try that later. I guess my question was a bit premature, as I had not even really tried a startup script. I first tried to start poclbm via ssh and it failed, so I just assumed the same problem would appear with autostart.

Any ideas what might be causing the problems with ssh?

Anyway, once I got it working (the autostart), I'll send the BTC.

Is there a straightforward way to turn the log file into a rotating log?

Surely the "export display" option was missing.
You can rotate the logs with logrotate utility.

If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 22, 2011, 04:22:43 PM
 #10

Quote
Any ideas what might be causing the problems with ssh?

DISPLAY and SDK paths are all you need. And if you do not own X screen (i.e., did not logged in via console before), you have to be root.

What errors do you have?

Quote
Is there a straightforward way to turn the log file into a rotating log?

Without killing poclbm, you would have to modify the poclbm source to log into files. 

If you don't mind killing poclbm, this script would do the trick

Code:
#!/bin/bash
#adjust the step to your needs
step=86400
 while true; do
   suffix=`date +%s`                                                                                                                                                               
   name=mininglog.$suffix                                                                                                                                                           
   echo $suffix >$name                                                                                                                                                             
   date >>$name                                                                                                                                                                     
   ./poclbm.py -v -f 2 -d 1 -o ***  -p 8332 -u **** --pass=**** -w 128 -r 60  >>$name   &                       
    sleep $step
# killing the old miner
   ps auxw |grep poclbm|grep 8332|awk '{print $2}' |xargs kill
# put date
   date >>$name                                                                                                                                                                     
   date +%s >>$name                                                                                                                                                                         
 done   

It will create a log with Unix time as the suffix and will add starting and ending timestamps to the log.

P.S. I don't claim the original bounty. It should go to gusti. 

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Fractality
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile WWW
February 22, 2011, 06:22:12 PM
 #11

Quote
DISPLAY and SDK paths are all you need. And if you do not own X screen (i.e., did not logged in via console before), you have to be root.

Hm, so what is the "own X screen" thing? In fact at least the aticonfig utility worked as root. I tried running poclbm as root, but then of course it failed because root doesn't have the SDK variables set (I suppose). Maybe it would have worked as root.

The confusing thing was that if I tried to ssh before logging in on the PC, it wouldn't work (poclbm would only find the CPU), and once I logged in on the PC it would work. So I guess by logging in on the PC directly (without ssh), I got to "own the X screen"? I always used the export DISPLAY=:0 line...

Bounty for gusti - OK. I still didn't get round to trying it. My mother just came to visit, so please be patient - might even be a couple of days before I can try it.

However, I already sent 10 BTC to Raulo because I promised to send some coins in the other threat about basic setup.

I wish I already had more BTC to spend :-)


1K4noMkNgrPztyqtHCYd2CevsZ72FeYUKF
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 22, 2011, 06:46:32 PM
 #12

Hm, so what is the "own X screen" thing? In fact at least the aticonfig utility worked as root. I tried running poclbm as root, but then of course it failed because root doesn't have the SDK variables set (I suppose). Maybe it would have worked as root
It would have worked if you had set LD_CONFIG_PATH and DISPLAY variables.

Quote
The confusing thing was that if I tried to ssh before logging in on the PC, it wouldn't work (poclbm would only find the CPU), and once I logged in on the PC it would work. So I guess by logging in on the PC directly (without ssh), I got to "own the X screen"? I always used the export DISPLAY=:0 line...

X server is what controls the screen. If you do not log in through console and start your gnome session, it is "owned" by gdm, the display that shows login prompt. Since you do not control the screen, you cannot send commands to the graphics card. Either you need to login via console (and then the operating system recognizes that you control the screen), or mine as root that can do anything.

Quote
However, I already sent 10 BTC to Raulo because I promised to send some coins in the other threat about basic setup.

I wish I already had more BTC to spend :-)

Thanks. I wish you luck.

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2011, 12:51:25 PM
 #13

Is there any way to permanently set the clock (aticonfig --odsc=x,x) and fanspeed values so that they don't change after the reboot?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 24, 2011, 01:03:09 PM
 #14

Is there any way to permanently set the clock (aticonfig --odsc=x,x) and fanspeed values so that they don't change after the reboot?

Fanspeed, no: resets after each X restart to auto.  Clock, yes:
Code:
aticonfig --odcc --adapter=all

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2011, 02:36:52 PM
 #15

Thanks Raulo!

I logged in via ssh and put in export DISPLAY=:0 (and the library path is in there as well).

I am still unable to use aticonfig via ssh:

Code:
mahkul@szafir:~/Downloads/bitcoin-0.3.19/bin/32$ sudo aticonfig --odgt          
No protocol specified
ERROR - X needs to be running to perform ATI Overdrive(TM) commands
mahkul@szafir:~/Downloads/bitcoin-0.3.19/bin/32$

Is sudo access not enough for this? Do I need to be logged in as root himself?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 24, 2011, 02:48:31 PM
 #16

Code:
mahkul@szafir:~/Downloads/bitcoin-0.3.19/bin/32$ sudo aticonfig --odgt          
No protocol specified
ERROR - X needs to be running to perform ATI Overdrive(TM) commands
mahkul@szafir:~/Downloads/bitcoin-0.3.19/bin/32$

Is sudo access not enough for this? Do I need to be logged in as root himself?

I guess the environmental variable is not set correctly when sudoing. Try
Code:
$ sudo bash
# export DISPLAY=:0
# aticonfig --odgt


1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Fractality
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile WWW
February 28, 2011, 01:51:48 PM
 #17

Hi,

I tried to create a script that sets the environment variables and starts the miner. However, it only seems to hang the shell.

I tried running it via ssh with sudo. That is the first thing I need to get working before autostart, because the miner will be in a friend's cellar. If anything goes wrong, I have to be able to do stuff with ssh...

Besides, I'd like to be able to test the script before I put it on autostart.

Any ideas?

Here is the script:

Quote
export ATISTREAMSDKROOT=/home/bjoern/bitcoin/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64
export ATISTREAMSDKSAMPLESROOT=/home/bjoern/bitcoin/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ATISTREAMSDKROOT/lib/x86_64/:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export LIBRARY_PATH=$LIBRARY_PATH:$ATISTREAMSDKROOT/lib/x86_64/
export C_INCLUDE_PATH=$C_INCLUDE_PATH:$ATISTREAMSDKROOT/include/

export DISPLAY=:0

poclbm/poclbm.py -u myuser --pass=notmypwd -d 1 -v -w 128 --verbose > /home/bjoern/bitcoin/poclbm1.log


#poclbm/poclbm.py -u myuser --pass=notmypwd -d 2 -v -w 128 -r 1 --verbose > /home/bjoern/bitcoin/poclbm2.log

What would I have to do to start both miners, btw? Is it sufficient to add a "&" to the end of the line, or does that only work in the shell?

Anyway, nothing ever showed up in the log file, and the script wasn't endable with ctrl+c.

1K4noMkNgrPztyqtHCYd2CevsZ72FeYUKF
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2011, 02:47:53 PM
 #18

I can't get this to work:

Code:
mahkul@szafir:~/log$ cat ./bitcoind.log
bitcoin server starting
Warning: To use bitcoind, you must set rpcpassword=<password>
in the configuration file: /.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
If the file does not exist, create it with owner-readable-only file permissions.

Why is it looking for that file in the /.bitcoin/ directory and not in ~/.bitcoin/ (where it acutally is)

Also, I have no devices visible in the miner (and I have the DISPLAY=:0 line in /etc/rc.local).

Code:
mahkul@szafir:~/log$ cat output1.log
No protocol specified
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following

[0]     AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 925 Processor

Should LD_LIBRARY_PATH and DISPLAY=:0 lines be in the rc.local itself? Because I have them in my automine script:

Code:
mahkul@szafir:~$ cat automine
export DISPLAY=:0
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/lib/x86/:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
/home/mahkul/Downloads/bitcoin-0.3.19/bin/32/bitcoind >> /home/mahkul/log/bitcoind.log 2>&1 &
sleep 5
cd /home/mahkul/Downloads/poclbm
./poclbm.py --user=user --pass=password -d 1 > /home/mahkul/log/output1.log 2>&1 &
./poclbm.py --user=user --pass=password -d 2 > /home/mahkul/log/output2.log 2>&1 &

Thanks.

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 02:48:48 PM
 #19

This script should work provided that you correctly set the paths. I would also give the absolute path for the poclbm.py.

What happens if you run the script without redirecting to the log files, i.e. without >/home/bjoern/bitcoin/poclbm1.log .

Quote
Is it sufficient to add a "&" to the end of the line

Yes, it is.

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 02:54:47 PM
 #20

Why is it looking for that file in the /.bitcoin/ directory and not in ~/.bitcoin/ (where it acutally is)

Because it doesn't know that you as a user even exists.
Try setting HOME to your directory.

Quote
Should LD_LIBRARY_PATH and DISPLAY=:0 lines be in the rc.local itself? Because I have them in my automine script:

It won't hurt but it should be working within the miner (but try both)

What happens if you run this script as root but not in autostart?

I have a very similar script that works in autostart. 

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!