Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:37:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: This program must be run in root??  (Read 946 times)
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 06:43:13 PM
 #1

What does this mean?

bit@Bit:~$ aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active


I just bought a new computer, had a computer shop make it, and went through all the steps but I can't tell what number my GPUs are.  I am mining successfully on my CPU so it works, but why won't my cards show up?

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
1480948642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948642
Reply with quote  #2

1480948642
Report to moderator
1480948642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948642
Reply with quote  #2

1480948642
Report to moderator
1480948642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948642
Reply with quote  #2

1480948642
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin-Qt, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480948642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948642
Reply with quote  #2

1480948642
Report to moderator
1480948642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948642
Reply with quote  #2

1480948642
Report to moderator
1480948642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948642
Reply with quote  #2

1480948642
Report to moderator
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 08:10:27 PM
 #2

your computer shop likely didnt give you any video cards capable of opencl (integrated video or something not current)

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!