Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:11:52 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HD5970 red lights  (Read 2559 times)
sunny day
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 07:10:11 PM
 #1

I have a PowerColor 5970 and after its been mining for a while it crashes the system (linuxcoin latest) and the fan goes to 100% and these two red lights on the back come on. I undid my core overclock and it's still doing that. temps are about 75-80.
Is this a hardware issue or what?
1481062312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481062312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481062312
Reply with quote  #2

1481062312
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481062312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481062312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481062312
Reply with quote  #2

1481062312
Report to moderator
1481062312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481062312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481062312
Reply with quote  #2

1481062312
Report to moderator
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 07:48:38 PM
 #2

The two lights indicate no power is applied to the power ports of the video card..

I would suspect Power isssues...

How many cards ? what Power supply your using... more info..

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
sunny day
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 01:39:05 AM
 #3

Oh...
I'm running a 6970 and the 5970 on a Corsair TX850. I thought the red light could also mean overheating because it lit up when the card overheated.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 01:41:16 AM
 #4

I have had a number of ATI cards do this in the instance of failure

Try running occt and seeing if it artifacts at stock clocks

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
sunny day
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 02:05:02 AM
 #5

Is that supposed to run on linux?
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:42:19 PM
 #6

Oh...
I'm running a 6970 and the 5970 on a Corsair TX850. I thought the red light could also mean overheating because it lit up when the card overheated.

What motherboard?  That PSU should be plenty beefy enough, and has a single rail, so unless you've melted your connectors somehow it should supply plenty of power.  Make sure connections are snug of course.

If you're using an older mobo it could be a problem supplying the 75W PCI-e slot power..

Does the card behave this way if you take the 6970 out?


Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
sunny day
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 03:07:30 AM
 #7

It's a abit ip35 pro. I took the 6970 out and it ran fine for 24 hours. So I got a riser with a molex plug and now it still crashes when I put both in.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2011, 03:59:13 PM
 #8

did you solve your problem ? How ? I'm having the same issue,
somenick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1318


View Profile
September 15, 2012, 07:51:51 PM
 #9

i have the same issue
luffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 606



View Profile
September 16, 2012, 04:02:11 PM
 #10

i guess it is a mobo issue Smiley
try on different boards if possible or let only one 5970 in the first PCIe for a while.
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 01:05:50 AM
 #11

I can tell you from my own experience with the same problem(but on a HD5850+5870 system) that it is either the PSU or the connectors to the card are loose, and usually changing their places might help.

Back then I had thought I had crapped my brand new 5870, turns out I didn't. Never had the problem since.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
September 17, 2012, 09:12:30 PM
 #12

Was going to say the same.  Seen one card with a red light come on once but I then noticed the power connection wasn't entirely locked into place for some reason.  Once it snapped in, everything was fine.  Even if the plugs are secure, you might just want to disconnect and reconnect them to be sure or try an altenative rail if possible.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!