Bitcoin Forum
June 27, 2017, 07:23:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 1000W PSU rails and 4 GPUs  (Read 2849 times)
tynt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61



View Profile
August 19, 2011, 07:45:04 AM
 #1

I have this Antec TruePower Quattro 1000W, 4 x 25A rails, 840W total. This should be more than enough to power 4x HD6870 (140W each, two 6pin connectors each)?

12v1 - 12v EPS MOBO connector that power CPU and MOBO.
12v2 - modular connectors for HDD
12v3 - PCIe modular 6+2pin(y-splitted to 2 x 6pin) and 6pin
12v4 - PCIe modular 6+2pin and 6pin

Three cards was easy to connect, everything runs fine even with heavy OC.
To connect fourth card i made an 8+2pin to 6pin Y-splitter. Now I divided 4 cards to 3 rails like this:

12v2 - 3 PCIe connectors - load: 18A
12v3 - 3 PCIe connectors - load: 18A
12v4 - 2 PCIe connectors - load: 12A
I measured connector voltages, all are nicely +12.2volts (+/- 0.05v)

Four cards setup is pretty unstable, crashes every 4 hours even w/o OC. And cards OC much less than in 3 card setup.

Am I having PSU problems? And how do you guys connect your cards when there are not enough connectors?

5830 mining for life
1498591421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498591421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498591421
Reply with quote  #2

1498591421
Report to moderator
1498591421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498591421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498591421
Reply with quote  #2

1498591421
Report to moderator
1498591421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498591421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498591421
Reply with quote  #2

1498591421
Report to moderator
POLONIEX TRADING SIGNALS
+50% Profit and more via TELEGRAM
ALTCOINTRADER.CO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498591421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498591421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498591421
Reply with quote  #2

1498591421
Report to moderator
jrtubs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile
August 19, 2011, 02:26:22 PM
 #2

What kind of temps are you getting if you're able to mind for a few hours it sounds more like a heat issue. Antec are nice power supplies and have a good bit of headroom like an extra 100watts if u want to push it right to the edge. but really u don't want to be pushing it that hard. as for connections your video card normally comes with extra adapters.
legolouman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


Decent Programmer to boot!


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 07:13:17 PM
 #3

Unless something is failing, I doubt it's a power problem. It's most likely a heat issue if you can mine for a few hours. There's a lot of heat coming out really fast. Watercooling is recommended, but you could just ditch the case

If you love me, you'd give me a Satoshi!
BTC - 1MSzGKh5znbrcEF2qTrtrWBm4ydH5eT49f
LTC - LYeJrmYQQvt6gRQxrDz66XTwtkdodx9udz
tynt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61



View Profile
September 05, 2011, 07:18:11 AM
 #4

Problem solved. 100% CPU usage caused to rig to hang randomly. I downclocked and undervolted my CPU and set miner affinity to one core.

Now all cards are OC-d again and rig runs like a dream.

5830 mining for life
HolodeckJizzmopper
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
September 05, 2011, 11:54:42 AM
 #5

Out of curiosity, which tool are you using to downclock your CPU ?
tynt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61



View Profile
September 05, 2011, 02:18:13 PM
 #6

I'm using Athlon x4 640 (3GHz default). I underclocked and undervolted it to 800MHz and 1.2v in BIOS.

5830 mining for life
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!