Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:13:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Desktop artifacts on my new 5850  (Read 1331 times)
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 10:13:56 AM
 #1

When I first put it in it worked just fine. I was doing some stuff on my hard drive (moving some files) for a while, went to watch a movie in the other room while I was mining.

I came back about an hour later and I had artifacts all over. There's less of them when I underclock my vram to 275, but when I start mining there's more of them.

I have a very modest setup:
E8400 dual core CPU, one hard drive, four usb devices, one disk drive and the 5850 card, and one case fan.

Is my two-year-old 380W earthwatts PSU enough to handle it? According to online calculators I should be fine unless the capacitors on my PSU have aged. I'll test my card in another computer later just to make sure.

Is there anything else that can be causing it?

1480839198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839198
Reply with quote  #2

1480839198
Report to moderator
1480839198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839198
Reply with quote  #2

1480839198
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480839198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839198
Reply with quote  #2

1480839198
Report to moderator
1480839198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839198
Reply with quote  #2

1480839198
Report to moderator
1480839198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839198
Reply with quote  #2

1480839198
Report to moderator
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 09:29:05 PM
 #2

the 380W earth watts should be more than enough.
try putting it all back to default clock, restart, and mine again.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 09:30:41 PM
 #3

When I first put it in it worked just fine. I was doing some stuff on my hard drive (moving some files) for a while, went to watch a movie in the other room while I was mining.

I came back about an hour later and I had artifacts all over. There's less of them when I underclock my vram to 275, but when I start mining there's more of them.

I have a very modest setup:
E8400 dual core CPU, one hard drive, four usb devices, one disk drive and the 5850 card, and one case fan.

Is my two-year-old 380W earthwatts PSU enough to handle it? According to online calculators I should be fine unless the capacitors on my PSU have aged. I'll test my card in another computer later just to make sure.

Is there anything else that can be causing it?

you mean your memory clock is at 275?  try increasing to 300ish... or take your core clock / 3 add about 14 and use this for mem. clock speed

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
August 19, 2011, 10:17:02 PM
 #4

Artifacting is usually a case of bad or too hot video memory.  I would make sure the VRAM cooling is situated properly, and other than that, RMA.  Usually artifacting will just get worse over time.
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 12:41:32 AM
 #5

the 380W earth watts should be more than enough.
try putting it all back to default clock, restart, and mine again.

it gets only worse on stock clock

When I first put it in it worked just fine. I was doing some stuff on my hard drive (moving some files) for a while, went to watch a movie in the other room while I was mining.

I came back about an hour later and I had artifacts all over. There's less of them when I underclock my vram to 275, but when I start mining there's more of them.

I have a very modest setup:
E8400 dual core CPU, one hard drive, four usb devices, one disk drive and the 5850 card, and one case fan.

Is my two-year-old 380W earthwatts PSU enough to handle it? According to online calculators I should be fine unless the capacitors on my PSU have aged. I'll test my card in another computer later just to make sure.

Is there anything else that can be causing it?

you mean your memory clock is at 275?  try increasing to 300ish... or take your core clock / 3 add about 14 and use this for mem. clock speed
doesn't solve artifacts, hashes slower on stock and worksize=256
275 is faster than 250 and 300

iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 11:29:20 AM
 #6

tested in friend's machine
got artifacts, going to RMA

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!