Bitcoin Forum
April 18, 2024, 02:54:32 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to get the latest difficulty?  (Read 735 times)
Ginsley (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234
Merit: 114


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 10:21:04 PM
 #1

As i realized now, there are differences between "getdifficulty" and the real actual difficulty needed to solve the next block.

So if i do getdifficulty and get a value of 1 (it seems diff 1 was needed to solve the last found block) it does not mean, i need to find a share with a value of 65535, if the coin updates its difficulty every single block. So it could be, that the needed difficulty for the next block is at 1.5 or at 0.75 or something else i do not know, i only see difficulty 1 at this moment.

cgminer seems to know, which share value is needed to solve the next block - but where does it get it from?

If i have several daemons installed to my system, where can i get the actually needed difficulty for the various chains from? Is there any solution for this? Or am i wrong with my assumptions?

1HYeuyxKHGmFs1ARvAPGgmEW9pW6u8L26U
1713452072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713452072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713452072
Reply with quote  #2

1713452072
Report to moderator
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713452072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713452072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713452072
Reply with quote  #2

1713452072
Report to moderator
1713452072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713452072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713452072
Reply with quote  #2

1713452072
Report to moderator
1713452072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713452072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713452072
Reply with quote  #2

1713452072
Report to moderator
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
December 25, 2013, 02:03:59 AM
 #2

Getmininginfo?

Ginsley (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234
Merit: 114


View Profile
December 25, 2013, 12:20:12 PM
 #3

Getmininginfo?

I tried this too (as well as getinfo) - but it anytime gives the same difficulty value as getdifficulty.

Code:
13:07:03 getinfo

13:07:03
{
"version" : "v1.5.0.0",
"protocolversion" : 60006,
"walletversion" : 60000,
"balance" : 56620.01000000,
"newmint" : 0.00000000,
"stake" : 0.00000000,
"blocks" : 377680,
"moneysupply" : 28043882.93443700,
"connections" : 5,
"proxy" : "",
"ip" : "178.5.80.82",
"difficulty" : 0.01380882,
"testnet" : false,
"keypoololdest" : 1387453236,
"keypoolsize" : 102,
"paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
"errors" : ""
}

Code:
13:07:06 getdifficulty

13:07:06
{
"proof-of-work" : 0.01380882,
"proof-of-stake" : 0.00024414,
"search-interval" : 1
}

Code:
13:07:08 getmininginfo

13:07:08
{
"blocks" : 377680,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 0.01380882,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : false,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"hashespersec" : 0,
"networkhashps" : 1872897,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}



1HYeuyxKHGmFs1ARvAPGgmEW9pW6u8L26U
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!