Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:40:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI-E Extenders all bad? Lots of problems.  (Read 9437 times)
JeroenV1990
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 03:51:35 PM
 #1

Hi there,

Setup:
3 machines, all with 4x 5830.

Recently i've build custom wood cases for my motherboards/videocards to keep them cool.
I've ordered these extensions cables: http://www.ebay.nl/itm/250865690511?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

Since then LOTS of problems;
- On one system I can get a maximum of 2 cards to work.
- On two systems i can get a maximum of 3 cards to work, both systems dont work with cards on slot 3 and 5.
- Random BSOD's, shutdowns and application not responding on all systems.

Any help? Thankyou.
1481305225
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305225

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305225
Reply with quote  #2

1481305225
Report to moderator
1481305225
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305225

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305225
Reply with quote  #2

1481305225
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
August 26, 2011, 03:13:58 PM
 #2

they look a bit different than the good ones from cablesaurus, in that they have a locking tab on the female connector and the blue tape is folded down on the sides below the female connector.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 03:18:27 PM
 #3

Please take a picture of the cables your actually received

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
AssemblY
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
August 26, 2011, 03:43:43 PM
 #4

Hi there,

Setup:
3 machines, all with 4x 5830.

Recently i've build custom wood cases for my motherboards/videocards to keep them cool.
I've ordered these extensions cables: http://www.ebay.nl/itm/250865690511?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

Since then LOTS of problems;
- On one system I can get a maximum of 2 cards to work.
- On two systems i can get a maximum of 3 cards to work, both systems dont work with cards on slot 3 and 5.
- Random BSOD's, shutdowns and application not responding on all systems.

Any help? Thankyou.

I had the same problems, I cleaned the contacts of the extensor and connected and disconnected several times, and until get it stable.

Try to do the same, maybe this can help you.
Jezzz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 04:13:35 PM
 #5

Not that it helps you with the ones you already ordered, but these are very reliable.  I have bout 10 of them with no issue.  https://cablesaurus.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=8

Just need to do some physical modification to make them work.
Zoomer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
September 15, 2011, 02:36:41 AM
 #6

I got two 16-16 from 9mart and they both appear to work fine for a couple hundred shares, but just hardlocks linuxcoin. Even with just 1 card installed, not overclocked, and different cards do it.

Showing the lotes, the other had a winning connector on it.


http://imgur.com/a/Y0cL4
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 03:37:34 AM
 #7

If none of that helps, this might!

Look for "Shorting Pins for Presence Detection"! A little less than ¼ the way down!

RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 03:43:34 AM
 #8

There's no edit anymore!

For the random BSOD/Lockups, try reinstalling your drivers! Remove the old ones first with driver sweeper or ccleaner! If you're OCing your cards, drop it back 5-10MHz and see if that helps!

Oh, and, close the Goxlive tab, it really draws on resources! Wink

Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
September 15, 2011, 02:53:45 PM
 #9

Did you examine the extenders to make sure that none of the pins are shorted? I got mine from www.9mart.com, and they work fine. But out of 6 I ordered, one had shorted pins, and the replacement they sent me may have the same problem. It's adjacent pins that short due to misaligned or bent pins. IMO, the quality is a little sketchy for the 9mart cables, but if you order a few more than you need, you should be fine. I remember reading somewhere on this forum that for 16-->16 cables, you want to look for extenders that use three separate ribbon cables. I don't know if there is anything to this, or why it would be the case, but I noticed that yours only use two ribbon cables. Also, it would help to know what motherboards you are using.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 03:16:51 PM
 #10

I remember reading somewhere on this forum that for 16-->16 cables, you want to look for extenders that use three separate ribbon cables. I don't know if there is anything to this, or why it would be the case, but I noticed that yours only use two ribbon cables. Also, it would help to know what motherboards you are using.

The Cablesaurus 16x/16x extenders have three 'split' sections, but there's really only two 'ribbons' if they weren't split (which they don't need to be).  Any extender with only a single ribbon cable is asking for trouble - PCIe connectors have pins on both sides of the connector, so you need two ribbons.

The ribbon cables are also a rather tiny gauge, so using two ribbon cables splits the +12V and +3.3V power among multiple wires.  This keeps the extender from overheating and starting a fire / frying your card.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
September 15, 2011, 04:13:25 PM
 #11

I remember reading somewhere on this forum that for 16-->16 cables, you want to look for extenders that use three separate ribbon cables. I don't know if there is anything to this, or why it would be the case, but I noticed that yours only use two ribbon cables. Also, it would help to know what motherboards you are using.

The Cablesaurus 16x/16x extenders have three 'split' sections, but there's really only two 'ribbons' if they weren't split (which they don't need to be).  Any extender with only a single ribbon cable is asking for trouble - PCIe connectors have pins on both sides of the connector, so you need two ribbons.

The ribbon cables are also a rather tiny gauge, so using two ribbon cables splits the +12V and +3.3V power among multiple wires.  This keeps the extender from overheating and starting a fire / frying your card.

I was talking about the split sections on each side. I agree they don't need to be split. But people do seem to be reporting more problems with the 16-->16 extenders that don't have three split sections per side. Even for the 1-->1, some extenders are split into two sections per side, and these may be better cables. If there is anything to this, and I'm not claiming there is, it probably has to do with manufacturers. Perhaps the manufacturer(s) that use split cables make a better quality product. It's just a superficial mark of the manufacturer, like the locking tab, which also shouldn't matter.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 05:14:58 PM
 #12

It's just a superficial mark of the manufacturer, like the locking tab, which also shouldn't matter.

The only purpose the locking tab has ever served is frustrating the hell out of me when I want to remove just the lower card, and the damn tab is blocked Wink

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 09:34:56 PM
 #13

It's just a superficial mark of the manufacturer, like the locking tab, which also shouldn't matter.

The only purpose the locking tab has ever served is frustrating the hell out of me when I want to remove just the lower card, and the damn tab is blocked Wink
2nd that!

Mr.Coin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 07:37:07 AM
 #14

I think motherboard makers put the locking tab on just to mess with us.
Zoomer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
September 16, 2011, 02:24:20 PM
 #15

It's a MSI NF750-G55.

The x16 extenders have 3 split sections and no shorts on the one I tested.


For the random BSOD/Lockups, try reinstalling your drivers! Remove the old ones first with driver sweeper or ccleaner! If you're OCing your cards, drop it back 5-10MHz and see if that helps!
I used linuxcoin and did make a new image on the flash drive to make sure, but no dice.

Since my situation differs from the OP's somewhat, maybe there's another cause?
m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 03:28:01 PM
 #16

I found gigabyte boards sometimes dont like 3 or 4 cards. SUprised that MSI though, i found them be solid.

I use X1 - X16 extenders, £3 off ebay. ANyone recomending cablesauraus as either got more money than sense or works for that guy. No one seems to be selling them with molex power adaptors either except him which is really frustrating. I just make them myself now from the £3 extenders. Simple
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 04:02:51 PM
 #17

ANyone recomending cablesauraus as either got more money than sense or works for that guy.

I use cablesaurus' adapters and I'm certainly no shill.  I really dislike paying so much for them, but he gets them out the door really quickly, it's convenient, and I've yet to hear about a bad adapter from him.

When I'm plugging my $150+ equipment into my $150+ mainboard, I'd rather have the consolation that the adapter has actually been tested.

He's also the only vendor accepting bitcoins for them unless you get them from someone random in the marketplace here.

Regardless of all that I think they should be half the price they are, but it doesn't stop me from spending a day or so of mining profit for them.

[edit] well shit, after re-reading that I guess I am a shill Wink

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 07:26:53 PM
 #18

ANyone recomending cablesauraus as either got more money than sense or works for that guy.

I use cablesaurus' adapters and I'm certainly no shill.  I really dislike paying so much for them, but he gets them out the door really quickly, it's convenient, and I've yet to hear about a bad adapter from him.

When I'm plugging my $150+ equipment into my $150+ mainboard, I'd rather have the consolation that the adapter has actually been tested.

He's also the only vendor accepting bitcoins for them unless you get them from someone random in the marketplace here.

Regardless of all that I think they should be half the price they are, but it doesn't stop me from spending a day or so of mining profit for them.

[edit] well shit, after re-reading that I guess I am a shill Wink

haha Smiley

Im in uk, so its not fast and 5 times the price Smiley
MacT
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
September 19, 2011, 08:52:00 PM
 #19


 I bought a Cablesaurus 1x-16x. They delivered quickly but it doesnt work for me at all, even with the shorting-to-recognize trick.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 19, 2011, 09:32:29 PM
 #20

I bought a Cablesaurus 1x-16x. They delivered quickly but it doesnt work for me at all, even with the shorting-to-recognize trick.

Since you're talking about shorting, I assume you mean you're using it in a 16x slot.

Does it work in a 1x slot?  It could simply be a bad one.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!