Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:31:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU mining with the original client is viable?  (Read 1853 times)
theGECK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410



View Profile
February 24, 2011, 11:30:22 PM
 #1

From what I've heard on here, mining with a CPU just isn't worth anything anymore. However, Steve Gibson on Security Now talks about how he mined a block with 4,000 hashes/second (I'm assuming he means kHash/s since he's using the default client).

Maybe I should give it a try. Smiley

Use my referral codes for Bitcoin faucets and I'll send you 25% of my referral bonus - Win/Win! PM for details on all sites available or use one of the links here.

FreeBitco.in | FreeDoge.co.in
1481236283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481236283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481236283
Reply with quote  #2

1481236283
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481236283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481236283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481236283
Reply with quote  #2

1481236283
Report to moderator
1481236283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481236283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481236283
Reply with quote  #2

1481236283
Report to moderator
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
February 24, 2011, 11:56:04 PM
 #2

From what I've heard on here, mining with a CPU just isn't worth anything anymore. However, Steve Gibson on Security Now talks about how he mined a block with 4,000 hashes/second (I'm assuming he means kHash/s since he's using the default client).

Maybe I should give it a try. Smiley

If you have an Intel CPU, use the SSE2 CPU Miner instead of the one inside of the default Bitcoin client. It looks like people using it are getting on the order of 450% performance using it compared to the default implementation on Intel CPUs.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
theGECK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410



View Profile
February 24, 2011, 11:57:56 PM
 #3

Already am - I just have it tied to slush's pool since I didn't want to wait months for the block to be (possibly) found.

Use my referral codes for Bitcoin faucets and I'll send you 25% of my referral bonus - Win/Win! PM for details on all sites available or use one of the links here.

FreeBitco.in | FreeDoge.co.in
(void, *)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile
February 25, 2011, 06:08:22 PM
 #4

Already am - I just have it tied to slush's pool since I didn't want to wait months for the block to be (possibly) found.

on my amd athlon2 x2(2 cores) cpu i get 2600 khash/s, on the amd phenom2 x6 (6 cores)cpu you will get around 7800+ khash/s, is it worth it? you deside.

1DFZysJRJCqQ7Mf6zzdXJwc2P7SBJZVoPJ
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2011, 06:50:56 PM
 #5

.. on the amd phenom2 x6 (6 cores)cpu you will get around 7800+ khash/s, is it worth it? you deside.
my PhenomII X3 gets ~7800+khash/s already on jgarziks cpu-4way, or ultrasofts cpu-miner,
an X6 should get about twice as much.


NicholasBell
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
February 25, 2011, 11:52:08 PM
 #6

my PhenomII X3 gets ~7800+khash/s already on jgarziks cpu-4way, or ultrasofts cpu-miner,
an X6 should get about twice as much.

I'm running an X6 1090T BE, not overclocked and can confirm that I get ~17500 khash/s.

Tips for helpful/interesting posts? 1FqDDt4w7NzBMg7qoB3GQjdMaPHn6wGhZB
GeorgeH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
February 26, 2011, 12:20:51 AM
 #7

my PhenomII X3 gets ~7800+khash/s already on jgarziks cpu-4way, or ultrasofts cpu-miner,
an X6 should get about twice as much.

I'm running an X6 1090T BE, not overclocked and can confirm that I get ~17500 khash/s.

Are you running with the 4way switch? I have the same proc, and I'm getting ~20khash/s with pop's cpu miner.

1DSpPtPTGXTYjkZehPsiAbjkXLkB1jsZ2x
NicholasBell
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
February 26, 2011, 02:38:51 AM
 #8

my PhenomII X3 gets ~7800+khash/s already on jgarziks cpu-4way, or ultrasofts cpu-miner,
an X6 should get about twice as much.

I'm running an X6 1090T BE, not overclocked and can confirm that I get ~17500 khash/s.

Are you running with the 4way switch? I have the same proc, and I'm getting ~20khash/s with pop's cpu miner.

Oh yes, I am. I didn't realize this topic was about the original client. I must have been skimming too much when I replied.

Tips for helpful/interesting posts? 1FqDDt4w7NzBMg7qoB3GQjdMaPHn6wGhZB
M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607



View Profile
February 26, 2011, 07:08:48 AM
 #9

From what I've heard on here, mining with a CPU just isn't worth anything anymore. However, Steve Gibson on Security Now talks about how he mined a block with 4,000 hashes/second (I'm assuming he means kHash/s since he's using the default client).

Maybe I should give it a try. Smiley

He must got lucky, or done it a long time ago, when difficulty was a lot smaller. Right now, to find a block with 4000 kH/s you'd have to mine for 1 year and 12 weeks on average.
theGECK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410



View Profile
February 26, 2011, 12:04:50 PM
 #10

From what I've heard on here, mining with a CPU just isn't worth anything anymore. However, Steve Gibson on Security Now talks about how he mined a block with 4,000 hashes/second (I'm assuming he means kHash/s since he's using the default client).

Maybe I should give it a try. Smiley

He must got lucky, or done it a long time ago, when difficulty was a lot smaller. Right now, to find a block with 4000 kH/s you'd have to mine for 1 year and 12 weeks on average.

He started February 9th, and got the block Feb 14th, according to his podcast. That's pure luck.

Use my referral codes for Bitcoin faucets and I'll send you 25% of my referral bonus - Win/Win! PM for details on all sites available or use one of the links here.

FreeBitco.in | FreeDoge.co.in
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!