Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 11:22:13 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Trading bot for britcoin - strategys?  (Read 2987 times)
joeyjoe (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 12:03:58 AM
 #1

Hi,

Ive just managed to write a quick bot to interact with britcoin to buy and sell, get balance and rates etc.

What would be a good strategy to run with the bot?

At the moment I only have a customizable rolling stop option ive currently set to 0.30 where if the value drops by 30p or more, then will automatically sell.

Havn't had it long enough to test anything yet, but what would be a good strategy to implement?

I will release it at a later date.

Bitcoin PHP programmer for hire! (HTML / CSS / JQuery / AJAX / .NET).
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin Core, but full nodes are more resource-heavy, and they must do a lengthy initial syncing process. As a result, lightweight clients with somewhat less security are commonly used.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714908133
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714908133

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714908133
Reply with quote  #2

1714908133
Report to moderator
1714908133
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714908133

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714908133
Reply with quote  #2

1714908133
Report to moderator
1714908133
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714908133

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714908133
Reply with quote  #2

1714908133
Report to moderator
joeyjoe (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 11:53:00 AM
 #2

?

Bitcoin PHP programmer for hire! (HTML / CSS / JQuery / AJAX / .NET).
evolve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


daytrader/superhero


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 01:10:37 PM
 #3

multiple buy orders to take advantage of price drops, and multiple sell orders to take advantage of price spikes.  adjust trades around the current price and leave enough of a spread that you can profit off of your trades after fees.

spruce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 01:15:59 PM
 #4

multiple buy orders to take advantage of price drops, and multiple sell orders to take advantage of price spikes.  adjust trades around the current price and leave enough of a spread that you can profit off of your trades after fees.


Fees are zero at Britcoin. Smiley
evolve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


daytrader/superhero


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 01:48:45 PM
 #5

even better! no fees means you can make money off of very small swings in price  Grin   
epetroel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431
Merit: 251


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 04:26:18 PM
 #6

I didn't even know britcoin had a trading API - is that documented anywhere?
joeyjoe (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 07:17:25 PM
 #7

They are working on one, but my method just submits forms on their page. works just as well as long as they dont change any of their settings. The openid login system is a bit anoying but have worked it out now.


Bitcoin PHP programmer for hire! (HTML / CSS / JQuery / AJAX / .NET).
jack102938
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 21, 2011, 07:19:23 PM
 #8

They are working on one, but my method just submits forms on their page. works just as well as long as they dont change any of their settings. The openid login system is a bit anoying but have worked it out now.


I'd be interested in acquiring this bot Smiley
joeyjoe (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 21, 2011, 08:22:53 PM
 #9


I'd be interested in acquiring this bot Smiley

Just very basic for now, just grabs the current value, and keeps checking it until it drops below a rolling stop value then sells the entire balance, quite messy at the moment as im having to work around their interface.

As its 0% fee's, would it be worth selling all the coins instantly for the going rate, and as soon as the value drops down again then buy them again? since the value is fluctuating so much this would be a perfect way to make small profits?

Bitcoin PHP programmer for hire! (HTML / CSS / JQuery / AJAX / .NET).
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1057


Marketing manager - GO MP


View Profile WWW
August 21, 2011, 08:24:55 PM
 #10

lawl  Grin
ask goldman sachs!
evolve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


daytrader/superhero


View Profile
August 22, 2011, 06:26:50 AM
 #11

As its 0% fee's, would it be worth selling all the coins instantly for the going rate, and as soon as the value drops down again then buy them again? since the value is fluctuating so much this would be a perfect way to make small profits?


well i wouldnt sell all at once, gotta leave some money/btc liquid.  you should set up a trading band (the bot should keep orders within your trading range, and cancel/make new orders based on price fluctuations).

if the current price was $10 (and you pay no fees), your trading band may look something like;

sell 2 btc    @12
sell 1.5 btc @ 11.50
sell 1 btc    @ 11.00
sell .5 btc   @ 10.75
sell .5 btc   @ 10.50
sell .2 btc   @ 10.02

buy.2 btc   @ 10.01
buy.5 btc   @ 9.95
buy 1 btc   @ 9.50
buy 1.5      @ 8.5
buy 2         @ 7



check out https://dnnbitcoin.aricie.com/ its the bot i am using right now. the default (linear trading) strategy is basically what i explained above. it may give you ideas for your own bot (and its open source, so you can check out the code.)




Chucksta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 23, 2011, 11:31:54 AM
 #12

They are working on one, but my method just submits forms on their page. works just as well as long as they dont change any of their settings. The openid login system is a bit anoying but have worked it out now.


I'd be interested in acquiring this bot Smiley

+1

How are you getting on wit this ? And does it work with the new look Britcoin ?
joeyjoe (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 23, 2011, 02:54:17 PM
 #13

They are working on one, but my method just submits forms on their page. works just as well as long as they dont change any of their settings. The openid login system is a bit anoying but have worked it out now.


I'd be interested in acquiring this bot Smiley

+1

How are you getting on wit this ? And does it work with the new look Britcoin ?

stopped doing it - designing one on the Arduino instead now Cheesy

Bitcoin PHP programmer for hire! (HTML / CSS / JQuery / AJAX / .NET).
Manko
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 30, 2011, 07:45:46 AM
 #14

They are working on one, but my method just submits forms on their page. works just as well as long as they dont change any of their settings. The openid login system is a bit anoying but have worked it out now.


I'd be interested in acquiring this bot Smiley

+1

How are you getting on wit this ? And does it work with the new look Britcoin ?

stopped doing it - designing one on the Arduino instead now Cheesy

That will be very interesting. Update us with how you get on Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!