Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:25:30 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What if any gpu can i use  (Read 1653 times)
crash893
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 25, 2011, 02:14:29 AM
 #1

I have a dell xps 410

in that box i have

PCI: 3 Slots
PCIe x1: 1 Slot
PCIe x16 (Graphics): 1 Slots <---being used)
PCIe x4/x8: 1 Slot


Are there any graphics cards that i could plug in and use under win7-64bit?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481311530
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311530

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311530
Reply with quote  #2

1481311530
Report to moderator
1481311530
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311530

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311530
Reply with quote  #2

1481311530
Report to moderator
1481311530
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311530

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311530
Reply with quote  #2

1481311530
Report to moderator
gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
February 25, 2011, 02:39:52 AM
 #2

I have a dell xps 410

in that box i have

PCI: 3 Slots
PCIe x1: 1 Slot
PCIe x16 (Graphics): 1 Slots <---being used)
PCIe x4/x8: 1 Slot


Are there any graphics cards that i could plug in and use under win7-64bit?

Dump your card from PCIe x16 and put a Radeon 5870 or 5970.

If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
GeorgeH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
February 25, 2011, 03:36:55 AM
 #3

Or drop something into the x4

1DSpPtPTGXTYjkZehPsiAbjkXLkB1jsZ2x
Quip
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 25, 2011, 06:16:46 AM
 #4

You can definitely upgrade the GeForce 7300LE Dell included to any modern GPU you want, but if you get anything high-end it may not fit in your case, and you may need a bigger power supply. I would stay away from the x4 slot, and the x1 slot is really only for sound and WIFI cards.

1NEEFwHjXDhbLZ2RxM6qSDnNDByNZYCSKf

LVBX is down indefinitely, so use CoinPal. Sorry.
Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
February 25, 2011, 07:24:47 AM
 #5

If you just use the gpu for mining the x4/x8 slot would work perfectly fine as bandwidth is not a problem for mining.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 412


minor developer


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2011, 09:03:25 AM
 #6

If you just use the gpu for mining the x4/x8 slot would work perfectly fine as bandwidth is not a problem for mining.

The x1 slot is also fine for mining. I can tell from experience that the difference from x16 slots is only marginal. Perhaps there is a notable effect with faster cards, but at least a HD5770 at 174 Mhash/s is basically unaffected.

crash893
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 25, 2011, 04:17:16 PM
 #7

If you just use the gpu for mining the x4/x8 slot would work perfectly fine as bandwidth is not a problem for mining.


I am looking for just mining maybe use it as a secondary monitor (i don't know if you can do both)


what cards can i fit in a x4 x8 that i can use to mine?

can i do this from win7?
Dude65535
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
February 25, 2011, 04:29:31 PM
 #8

I could not find any video cards specifically for x4 or x8 slots.

If the x4/x8 is full length you can use any x16 card in it. An ATI 5(7/8/9)70 would be a good choice for mining.

Even if it is not full length, if you are brave and there is nothing just passed the connector that a card would run into, you can carefully break off plastic at the back of the slot and put a full size card in with part of the connector just hanging out. I have not done that personally but I understand electrically it is the same as using a full length x8 slot.

Under win7 the only thing you have to worry about is there must be something plugged into one of the monitor connectors for the card to be powered up and usable. That could be a second monitor or simply a dvi->vga adapter.

1DCj8ZwGZXQqQhgv6eUEnWgsxo8BTMj3mT
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 412


minor developer


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2011, 07:13:53 PM
 #9

Even if it is not full length, if you are brave and there is nothing just passed the connector that a card would run into, you can carefully break off plastic at the back of the slot and put a full size card in with part of the connector just hanging out. I have not done that personally but I understand electrically it is the same as using a full length x8 slot.

I have done this to a x1 riser/extender, so the motherboard connector could stay intact. The plastic is hard enough to work with, even in a separate riser, and it would be easy to damage the motherboard. I used a small blade mounted on a soldering iron.

Quip
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 26, 2011, 03:31:14 AM
 #10

If you just use the gpu for mining the x4/x8 slot would work perfectly fine as bandwidth is not a problem for mining.


I am looking for just mining maybe use it as a secondary monitor (i don't know if you can do both)


what cards can i fit in a x4 x8 that i can use to mine?

can i do this from win7?

I would just replace your current card, as even a modern low-end card will be able to run two monitors and mine at the same time. It doesn't sound like you would have the money for multiple cards, but if you do you could definitely put two additional cards into the x4 and x1 slots, however they would only be good for mining, not gaming.

1NEEFwHjXDhbLZ2RxM6qSDnNDByNZYCSKf

LVBX is down indefinitely, so use CoinPal. Sorry.
crash893
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 26, 2011, 04:54:17 AM
 #11

I still use my x16 card to play games its pretty powerfull

I have the 2x geforce 7950 gx2 not the default card for the 410


thats why im looking at droping something in the empty slots


any suggestions?
Quip
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 26, 2011, 05:28:46 AM
 #12

Oh, I see.

I would get a Radeon 5770. It'll be way faster than your current card and a strong miner as well.

1NEEFwHjXDhbLZ2RxM6qSDnNDByNZYCSKf

LVBX is down indefinitely, so use CoinPal. Sorry.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!