Bitcoin Forum
May 02, 2024, 02:50:46 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Some help for the new guy  (Read 1151 times)
gadoli (OP)

Activity: 6
Merit: 0

View Profile
February 27, 2011, 10:49:05 AM

Hi, a Bitcoin noob here with a few questions:

1) How do I maintain a steady address , or how can I enter a custom address (If at all possible)? Running Linux.

2) What is a transaction's Time To Live is? Or in practical terms, when someone sends me Bitcoins, and my client is not running, how long do I have before the transaction is canceled (if it does, at all)?

3) And a more theoretically driven question: I see confirmations rolling in for days after a transaction is complete.. In fact, in some transactions have confirmations already in their thousands.
In the long run, as BC grows, isn't this going to clog up the network?

Thanks!

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Whoever mines the block which ends up containing your transaction will get its fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary

Activity: 5194
Merit: 12908

View Profile
February 27, 2011, 11:34:09 AM

How do I maintain a steady address , or how can I enter a custom address (If at all possible)? Running Linux.

You can't make custom addresses. They are randomly-generated. You can create as many as you want, though.

What is a transaction's Time To Live is? Or in practical terms, when someone sends me Bitcoins, and my client is not running, how long do I have before the transaction is canceled (if it does, at all)?

There is no time limit. You'll get it whenever you come online. This could be years later. The sender doesn't need to remain online, either. The network handles it.