Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 06:03:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] Mining on Ubuntu 11.04 with ATI, freeze while mining.  (Read 1014 times)
TeaL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 08:00:11 PM
 #1

Hey everyone, I'm new here (these forums), that is why this is being posted in this section.

I'm using Ubuntu 11.04 with an AMD/ATI Radeon 6990 (soon to be 2 6990s). I use poclbm with Catalyst version 11.8 and AMD APP SDK version 2.5. I'm using Gnome and Compiz as my desktop & window manager.

My problem is: Whenever I mine with both cores at the same time, my OS locks up and I have to hard reset. My OS also locks up if I leave a single core mining for a period of time. I get about 10 seconds of mining time on both cores before it freezes (I do get shares on both cores during this time), and up to 30 seconds or a minute with just one core running.

How I invoke poclbm (through a shell script):

Code:
echo "#started 1#"
export DISPLAY=:0
echo "changing directories..."
cd /home/teal/phoenix/python-jsonrpc/poclbm
./poclbm.py http://USER_NAME:PASSWORD@deepbit.net:8332 -v -w 128 -f 10 -d 1

I have to use the line "export DISPLAY=:0" for poclbm to see both GPU cores (aticonfig can see both). I use a much higher frame (-f) parameter for adapter "0" to leave resources for running my display.


I hope someone has some advice for me as I've exhausted my own means to solve this. I'm happy to provide any more relative information. I will be back from work at 8:30 (EST), any help would be appreciated.  

To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people simply exist.
Helpful? ~ 1D3674hkatc4qQBjioWniF6epCmvAEQ45S
https://deepbit.net/userbar/4de68def8161972437000002_f1c525313c.png
Free as in Freedom.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481047390
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047390

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047390
Reply with quote  #2

1481047390
Report to moderator
1481047390
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047390

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047390
Reply with quote  #2

1481047390
Report to moderator
1481047390
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047390

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047390
Reply with quote  #2

1481047390
Report to moderator
Chemicalbro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 08:57:06 PM
 #2

I'd suggest trying cgminer. Works pretty awesome. But check your temps, are they causing it?

Vircurex Exchange BTC/LTC/NMC
true_source
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 12:29:29 AM
 #3

Hey everyone, I'm new here (these forums), that is why this is being posted in this section.

I'm using Ubuntu 11.04 with an AMD/ATI Radeon 6990 (soon to be 2 6990s). I use poclbm with Catalyst version 11.8 and AMD APP SDK version 2.5. I'm using Gnome and Compiz as my desktop & window manager.

My problem is: Whenever I mine with both cores at the same time, my OS locks up and I have to hard reset. My OS also locks up if I leave a single core mining for a period of time. I get about 10 seconds of mining time on both cores before it freezes (I do get shares on both cores during this time), and up to 30 seconds or a minute with just one core running.

How I invoke poclbm (through a shell script):

Code:
echo "#started 1#"
export DISPLAY=:0
echo "changing directories..."
cd /home/teal/phoenix/python-jsonrpc/poclbm
./poclbm.py http://USER_NAME:PASSWORD@deepbit.net:8332 -v -w 128 -f 10 -d 1

I have to use the line "export DISPLAY=:0" for poclbm to see both GPU cores (aticonfig can see both). I use a much higher frame (-f) parameter for adapter "0" to leave resources for running my display.


I hope someone has some advice for me as I've exhausted my own means to solve this. I'm happy to provide any more relative information. I will be back from work at 8:30 (EST), any help would be appreciated.   

have you tried disabling compiz for testing? compiz goes kind of deep into the lower layers of the system, and it's known not to be best when it comes to compatibility with AMD drivers.
you could also check /var/log/Xorg.0.log when rebooting after a freeze. it will contain some information about why X died(and took the machine with it). If it's not X, then it's most likely the kernel. tail /var/log/dmesg.0 after rebooting the machine should show you why.(eg if it's a temp problem, it'll be stated at the end of this file)
TeaL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 04:52:19 AM
 #4

I tried using metacity instead of compiz, no dice the OS still locks up within a minute of mining.

In terms of the log files mentioned, the xorg log had no errors (defined as EE, except one to do with my mouse): (EE) Alienware Alienware TactX Mouse: failed to initialize for relative axes.

The last line in the dmesg log said nothing about temps (and it shouldn't as I up the fan speed to 90%). The last line in that log file is: e1000e 0000:0a:00.0: irq 82 for MSI/MSI-X


Hope that's useful to someone who knows what they're looking for. Once again any help is appreciated  Smiley

To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people simply exist.
Helpful? ~ 1D3674hkatc4qQBjioWniF6epCmvAEQ45S
https://deepbit.net/userbar/4de68def8161972437000002_f1c525313c.png
Free as in Freedom.
TeaL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 04:27:18 PM
 #5

Can anyone offer more help?

To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people simply exist.
Helpful? ~ 1D3674hkatc4qQBjioWniF6epCmvAEQ45S
https://deepbit.net/userbar/4de68def8161972437000002_f1c525313c.png
Free as in Freedom.
TeaL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 09:22:39 PM
 #6

After reading some more threads about people having trouble with CPU usage while mining on GPUs, I noticed I was using 350% (of 600%) or my CPU power while mining. The thread (on forums) seemed to indicate this was a problem with the driver version (11.7 & 11.Cool. I downgraded to Catalyst version 11.6 and everything is running smoothly (830Mhash/s on my 6990), no locking up no problems.

To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people simply exist.
Helpful? ~ 1D3674hkatc4qQBjioWniF6epCmvAEQ45S
https://deepbit.net/userbar/4de68def8161972437000002_f1c525313c.png
Free as in Freedom.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!