Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 04:43:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 cards working strangely badly together  (Read 769 times)
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2011, 08:46:43 PM
 #1

Hi, I just added a 5870 to my old 5750 and now if I launch phoenix for both, they are 30% to 50% slower (5750 produces 120Mhs instead of 170, and 5870 produces about 160 Mhs instead of 380). Working alone they produce normal full speed in Mhs. They both have memory set at 300 and are reasonably overclocked. Catalyst 11.8.

I have two 500W power supplies, one (Amacrox warrior AX500-A) just for the graphic cards and the other for the rest of the system.
The specifics are:
ASRock ALiveXFire-eSATA2 
DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2, 2100 MHz (10.5 x 200) 4000+
2048 MB  (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
4 HD

I already tried to uninstall and reinstall Catalyst to no avail.
Any suggestion is welcome

1481128996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128996
Reply with quote  #2

1481128996
Report to moderator
1481128996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128996
Reply with quote  #2

1481128996
Report to moderator
1481128996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128996
Reply with quote  #2

1481128996
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 24, 2011, 09:07:52 PM
 #2

What operating system/miner/flags? Does the 5870 work correctly on it's own? Any applied overclocks?,

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2011, 09:15:35 PM
 #3

Yes, both cards work correctly alone.

OS: Xp pro sp3 always updated

Miner: Phoenix 1.50

Flags (in 2 .bat):
phoenix.exe -u http://user:pass@btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk DEVICE=1 VECTORS FASTLOOP=true AGGRESSION=5 WORKSIZE=256 BFI_INT -a 1000
phoenix.exe -u http://user:pass@btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS FASTLOOP=true AGGRESSION=5 WORKSIZE=256 BFI_INT -a 1000

OC:
5750: 890Mhz, mem 200Mhz
5870: 950Mhz  mem 300

Xfire disabled according Gpu-z

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 24, 2011, 09:53:00 PM
 #4

you say crossfire is dissabled according to gpu z. can i safely assume that means there is no crossfire bridge installed?(if this is wrong remove it) I would suggest sticking to catalyst 11.6 if you can newer revisions have several irritating bugs currently
Edit looked up -a i wouldn't bother setting that in your case

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2011, 10:38:48 PM
 #5

No Xfire cable.
I don't think to roll back the catalyst driver since older do need dummy plugs that I don't have.

Another strange thing is that I get ridicolous high temps on both cards (they reach 100° after 2-3 minutes of mining, and stay at 100° C with their fan at full throttle), even if my case is decently ventilated. This happens only now. Before, when I had only a 5750, it never surpassed 75°C in the same case, even mining for several hours, and its fan remaine around 50% (now it goes at 100% in a few seconds).

Something is very wrong.

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 24, 2011, 10:57:25 PM
 #6

Ventilation is always of concern in multi card setups if you're running that hot your case isn't ventilated well enough. as far as dummy plugs i've been using this method and will continue to even with newer drivers http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=11

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 12:30:12 AM
 #7

If he is still having this problem, and since he just inserted this second gfx card, he might need to go into CCC and enable/extend/duplicate that second gfxcard, after installing 11.6.

I believe if it is not enabled, somehow the one card fiddles with itself between two workers.

From the past experience about hour or two ago. Just a suggestion as after installing 11.6 , this same problem happened until I enabled that second card in ccc, now both cards are mining flawlessly.
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
August 25, 2011, 08:29:12 AM
 #8

How do you enable a card in CCC? I do not find any option to do it.

edit: I found it. Too easy. Just right clik on CCC tray icon and choose extend desktop to a card.
Problem is that I found activated extended desktop (there are no other options in Xp), and once i deactivated it, now I cannot activate it any more.

More strangeness: if I connect the monitor to the 5750, it remains blank. It does not show even the POST at boot.

Now I am going to unistall and reinstall Catalyst and if I do not solve nuthin I will try to connect a Xfire cable for desperation.

pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 01:55:10 PM
 #9

Before you uninstall CCC, download driversweeper. http://phyxion.net/Driver-Sweeper/Driver-Sweeper/Version-3-1-0/
install it, uninstall CCC, boot into safe mode, start driver sweeper up, goto misc uncheck both save log and create a backup.

Analyse and clean. Clean.

The extend/duplicate is also found under CCC, that is where I enabled it.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!