Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2018, 02:27:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: variance in H#/s  (Read 489 times)
g7g7g7g7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 24, 2011, 09:38:32 PM
 #1

Hi there, I set up bitcoin the other night using GUIminer and have been keeping an eye on things but the variance I am getting in MH/s is ridiculous. My setup is as follows,
MOBO- m4a89GTD
GPU- 6850 x2
CPU- X4 955BE
running on win7

with one card enabled I am getting 180MH/s
with both enabled (as seperate miners) 130/130 (260)
however when I leave my computer and check on it later this has dropped to under 100 per card until I check on it. I have no power saving options enabled I am just turning off my monitor and leaving my computer running. So I have looked around and  cant find a definite answer so I thought it best to ask.

1. Is there any way to get 200% with two cards running or am I missing some setting?
2. When left unattended why does the rate at which I mine decrease so fast, I mean 10 mins after I last checked on it, it drops again?

any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks
Gav.
1529461630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529461630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529461630
Reply with quote  #2

1529461630
Report to moderator
1529461630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529461630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529461630
Reply with quote  #2

1529461630
Report to moderator
1529461630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529461630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529461630
Reply with quote  #2

1529461630
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
true_source
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 12:24:55 AM
 #2

do you perhaps have some kind of screen saver that uses the graphics card? I mean, if you turn off your monitor when leaving the machine you wouldn't probably get it if theres a screen saver working. and most ppl move the mouse a bit when bending over the desk.

I would also (if it's not a screen saver) check my machine for malware. There might be something on your computer that's waiting for you to leave the computer(like a screen saver) to do it's "work" without you knowing.(Botnet computers tend to "live" longer if the victim does not know it's infected)
g7g7g7g7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 12:46:10 AM
 #3

Nope no screen saver, I will check the power management options again though.

I ran malwarebytes a couple of days ago and nothing there, unless something came in when I downloaded bitcoin I think I am fine, I will check again though, thanks.
g7g7g7g7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 02:12:36 AM
 #4

Just checked everything and it all seems to be fine, I did notice that I was sitting at a steady 300MH/s.

It just seems strange that it is going between 200-300 for no reason.
Darknesss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 04:05:54 AM
 #5

Unplug the computer?
Bitsausage
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 05:24:28 AM
 #6

Try a different pool, the pool you are using could be giving connection errors.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!