Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:39:11 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problems on a 6990  (Read 937 times)
Belial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 01:03:58 AM
 #1

i started mining more than a month ago on a 8800GTS (what i had at the moment) and after a month of trying to get a 6990, i finally got one (it is an investment, but if i decide to drop bitmining i can still use it for gaming, so that's not much of a "risk").

But now i have some problems that i didn't have with my nVidia:

1º - GUIminer doesn't show Accepted/Stales, it just stays on 0 though when i log on the pool there are some accepted!

2º (Big One) - I can't get the 2º core to mine, after 2-3 secs after starting I just get "2011-08-25 00:47:07: Listener for "ATI6990 Core 2": pool.bitp.it:8334 25/08/2011 00:47:07, Verification failed, check hardware!"

The core seems to be working on gaming and I doubt it is an hardware problem. On some thread i heard that disabling the crossfire would solve it but the Crossfire option doesn't appear on CCC, probably because Crossfire is usual for different cards.

So WTH do I do?

I'm currently mining just with the first core 350MHash/s.

3º - 6990's fan is damn noisy, i wanted to use this PC as my normal desktop and mine when I'm not on it, but the fan's noise can be heard on the whole house ^^; [keeping the 1º core at 72ºC at a 64% fan speed] I'm guessing that if i get the 2º core to work this will get even worse. Do you just keep the miners in the basement and don't care about the noise or use other solutions? (any cheap one?)
1481326751
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326751

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326751
Reply with quote  #2

1481326751
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481326751
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326751

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326751
Reply with quote  #2

1481326751
Report to moderator
1481326751
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326751

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326751
Reply with quote  #2

1481326751
Report to moderator
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 06:20:45 AM
 #2

1º - GUIminer doesn't show Accepted/Stales, it just stays on 0 though when i log on the pool there are some accepted!

2º (Big One) - I can't get the 2º core to mine, after 2-3 secs after starting I just get "2011-08-25 00:47:07: Listener for "ATI6990 Core 2": pool.bitp.it:8334 25/08/2011 00:47:07, Verification failed, check hardware!"

The core seems to be working on gaming and I doubt it is an hardware problem. On some thread i heard that disabling the crossfire would solve it but the Crossfire option doesn't appear on CCC, probably because Crossfire is usual for different cards.

Which version are you using? Two versions of guiminer was released yesterday. the second release had a few fixes and I believe I read something about 0 shares being fixed.

Are you overclocked. Usually when I had a Verification failed, check hardware I had either to high of an overclock or it was to hot in the room where my mining machine is in or to high of an overclock and to hot.

MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 07:16:06 PM
 #3

I also have a 6990 but watercooled so no noise..
before i watercooled it, it did run very loud.

mysef i use cgminer
uses 1 account for both GPU's
Belial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 09:13:18 PM
 #4

Currently using:
cgminer -o XXX:8332 -u XXX -p  XXX -I 7 -k phatk

Img:
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/1258/bitmineerror.png

What am i missing? What did you install?

I have Catalyst 11.8
TeaL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 09:26:09 PM
 #5

Try using catalyst version 11.6. I'm running an Ubuntu box, and my system kept locking up after a few seconds / minutes of mining. This was caused by a problem with Catalyst version 11.7 & 11.8 (Linux binaries anyway). I'm not sure if the same problems exist in the Windows releases of the driver, but I would recommend you at least try 11.6.

To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people simply exist.
Helpful? ~ 1D3674hkatc4qQBjioWniF6epCmvAEQ45S
https://deepbit.net/userbar/4de68def8161972437000002_f1c525313c.png
Free as in Freedom.
Belial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 09:42:08 PM
 #6

It is stated on various places in this forum that ironically the 11.8 works better on Windows users (not what happends on Linux).

I don't think this is an hardware problem as it does this without OC.

What openGL did you install? (provide link plz)
Belial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 10:11:08 PM
 #7

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=printpage;topic=5925.0
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=21687.20

I'm not the first having this problem, i just don't get what they did to solve it =S
Belial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 12:17:37 AM
 #8

I'm starting to get desperate  Cry

I downgraded to catalyst 11.6 and SDK 2.4, same problem. Uninstalled SDK 2.4 and installed SDK 2.1 (as most advised). And now GUIminer/cgminer (and other) don't detect my 2 cores (from ATI 6990)!!

I'm on WinXP 32bits, I have more than enough power, I didn't overclocked it and it still gives me Hardware Errors on the 2º Core.


Shoot me something, i'm running out of options!!!  Angry
Belial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 12:29:24 AM
 #9

As refered on https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=37040.msg459388#msg459388, I'll now try to downgrade to Catalyst 11.5, and whatever SDK and give it a shot.

[Sorry about the monologuing, but if this is usual and the answer can't be found anywhere, it might be useful for others later (if i do solve it)]
Belial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 01:26:39 AM
 #10

WinXP 32bits
Catalyst 11.5
SDK 2.4
ATI SAPHIRE 6990 @830
Memory UC @730
cgminer -o XXX:8332 -u USER -p PASS -I 7 -k phatk

695-719MHash/s


I still have like 200-300 hardware errors per minute (very low compared to the 10k errors per 1-2 seconds). Is this normal anyway? I only have hardware errors on the 2º Core.

Any possible tweaks you recommend on the flags? Are this Hardware Errors normal?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!