Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:47:55 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 4 x HD5970 What is the cheapest/best motherboard?  (Read 11495 times)
someotherguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94



View Profile
February 27, 2011, 04:27:51 PM
 #1

I plan to run 4 HD5970's on a water cooling, what is the best motherboard for this for the price?
1481100475
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100475

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100475
Reply with quote  #2

1481100475
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481100475
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100475

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100475
Reply with quote  #2

1481100475
Report to moderator
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 04:54:13 PM
 #2

In the time you'll set up the new hardware difficulty will rise by another 40% average. Buying _now_ hardware to mine isn't the best idea ever.

That system with watercooling will easily be over 3000 Euro.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
someotherguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94



View Profile
February 27, 2011, 05:26:01 PM
 #3

In the time you'll set up the new hardware difficulty will rise by another 40% average. Buying _now_ hardware to mine isn't the best idea ever.

That system with watercooling will easily be over 3000 Euro.

I already have a system running just upgrading cards and motherboard.
aistto
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1005


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 08:23:13 PM
 #4

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130223
aistto
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1005


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 08:27:14 PM
 #5

or
Giga-Byte GA-890FXA-UD7 <SAM3, AMD 890FX, 4*DDR3, 6*PCI-E16x, SATA RAID, 2*GB Lan, XL-ATX
eserge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 09:33:39 PM
 #6

As far as I know you can't set 4 5970s in one system since each of them already has 2 GPUs onboard.
dust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile WWW
February 27, 2011, 10:06:04 PM
 #7

As far as I know you can't set 4 5970s in one system since each of them already has 2 GPUs onboard.

It is certainly possible, some people around here have done it.  I think only the linux drivers support 8 GPUs.  Regardless, going with 2 5970's per computer is probably the more cost effective option.

Cryptocoin Mining Info | OTC | PGP | Twitter | freenode: dust-otc | BTC: 1F6fV4U2xnpAuKtmQD6BWpK3EuRosKzF8U
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 10:08:26 PM
 #8

Regardless, going with 2 5970's per computer is probably the more cost effective option.

Agreed...

Just what kind of PSU (would one handle it) would you need for quad 5970s?


GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
dust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile WWW
February 27, 2011, 10:13:44 PM
 #9

Agreed...

Just what kind of PSU (would one handle it) would you need for quad 5970s?

The cheapest option would be to use two PSUs.  A while back I bought one of these in an attempt to run 4x5970 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817256054  Expensive...

Cryptocoin Mining Info | OTC | PGP | Twitter | freenode: dust-otc | BTC: 1F6fV4U2xnpAuKtmQD6BWpK3EuRosKzF8U
reflex99
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 10:44:07 PM
 #10

for dual 5970s, you shouldn't need more than 950ish watts.

A good cost effective board would be something like the gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H

I had one, very nice board for the $$$
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 12:41:30 AM
 #11

We already passed the point where buying hardware was profittable.

I did the computation for myself. Adding a new video card (only the card), a good bitcoin generation/dollar one, will not pay for itself. I didn't count the electricity.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 01:08:24 AM
 #12

We already passed the point where buying hardware was profittable.

I did the computation for myself. Adding a new video card (only the card), a good bitcoin generation/dollar one, will not pay for itself. I didn't count the electricity.

Agreed - as fast as the difficulty is changing now it isn't worth it.

Now - if you were doing this 4 months ago - maybe so...

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
someotherguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94



View Profile
February 28, 2011, 01:16:34 AM
 #13

Regardless, going with 2 5970's per computer is probably the more cost effective option.

Agreed...

Just what kind of PSU (would one handle it) would you need for quad 5970s?



2 x 750w PS should just fine
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 01:55:20 AM
 #14

Yeah - that would seem best...

I am not wise enough to figure how to get two PSUs to supply a single system  Wink

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 03:07:51 AM
 #15

Yeah - that would seem best...

I am not wise enough to figure how to get two PSUs to supply a single system  Wink

You can't. A 450W PSU it's around 40$, 2x450W = 900W would be 80$. Why the hell would someone pay over 130$ for something he could get for 80$.

The only thing you _MAY_ try is to use 1 PSU to power 2 video cards. The different load will cause different voltages and most likely system instability, it may even burn the card VRM.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
February 28, 2011, 08:04:00 AM
 #16

http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42

http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=44

It's doable but you'll need to re-route the mobo power to 2 of the graphic cards to stop the mobo power rails from cooking. If you're going to do that for 2 do it for them all.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3883.0

Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
February 28, 2011, 12:28:26 PM
 #17

http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42

http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=44

It's doable but you'll need to re-route the mobo power to 2 of the graphic cards to stop the mobo power rails from cooking. If you're going to do that for 2 do it for them all.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3883.0
Looks pretty sophisticated, anyone tried that direct PSU feeding trick yet? I can't seem to understand what connectors he's connecting to and to which PSU plug it is hooked up.

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
February 28, 2011, 08:17:56 PM
 #18


It looks like he's just a grabbed a 12V line from the PSU (off a Mobex connector?) and soldered it to 5 12V broken out ribbon-cable cores of PCI-e x1 extender cable.
http://blog.zorinaq.com/images/flex-pcie-4x-modified.jpg
http://blog.zorinaq.com/images/flex-pcie-before-after.jpg
"...re-route the five 12V lines (PCIe pins A2, A3, B1, B2, B3) to a single 16AWG stranded wire directly connected to one of the 12V outputs of the power supply. ..."

The jumper trick across A1 to B17 on the slot connector to make the down-plug work is necessary also.
http://blog.zorinaq.com/images/pcie-short-schematic.png
http://blog.zorinaq.com/images/pcie-short-photo.jpg

Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
February 28, 2011, 09:56:27 PM
 #19

So he's connecting 5 cards, by taking the powerlines of the respective extender cables and soldering them into _one_ molex female plug, and them he plugs it into the power supply? Or does he use a molex from the PSU for each card?

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
February 28, 2011, 10:18:53 PM
 #20


He spells it out in good detail if you read it carefully.

4 hd5970 cards, 1 mobo.
4 PCi-e extender ribbon cables, each one modified to have 5 12V cores soldered into 1 12v (yellow) 16AWG from PSU ... it doesn't really matter what connectors you use if you know what you are doing.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!