Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:58:05 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multitasking and Pool Mining  (Read 711 times)
Gunderson
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 04:21:23 PM
 #1

Hey guys, I'm considering adding a 5870 to my desktop and getting into mining. 

I am wondering two things;

First, can I run the mining software at more or less full steam while I work on other non-GPU intensive tasks on the same desktop? 
I would mostly be multitabling poker clients (8 to 12 tables) over wifi if this helps.  Since the amount of money on the tables would far outweigh the value of mining with 1 card, the mining op would have to play very nice with my normal computer use. 

Second, if I built a dedicated mining rig and joined a pool, would the rig need to be connected to the internet whenever it was mining or could it be run offline and then connected to the pool once every few days to upload completed work and download new problems.  Again, the problem for me is anything which might interfere with my network responsiveness. 

Thanks in advance
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480957085
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480957085

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480957085
Reply with quote  #2

1480957085
Report to moderator
1480957085
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480957085

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480957085
Reply with quote  #2

1480957085
Report to moderator
mute20
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265


21


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 05:40:41 PM
 #2

The computer has to be connected to pool at all times so no to #2. I have ran my card while playing on pokerstars fine ,but you should only run on aggression for miners like phoenix.
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 07:05:00 PM
 #3

the miner completes its work in a few minutes.

so it will need to get new work every few mintes.
myself i'm mining on my desktop as well.
only issues i have is some graphincs are slow to draw.
YOutube videos hang my machine.

I'm not running with aggression so that may be teh issue with graphics slow to draw. not worried about it though.

my 2 cents
Gunderson
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 03:28:05 PM
 #4

Thanks guys. 

Any opinion on GUIminer vs phoenix for mining/multitasking using a 5870 or 6870?
racerguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 07:06:45 PM
 #5

It'll be fine as long as you use agression=5 or maybe even lower.
Turbo4000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 08:29:53 PM
 #6

GUIMiner will usually give higher numbers regardless, but in terms of multitasking, be wary how low you set the delay. Higher delays = better multitasking and lower hash rate.

Sharecoin: SecTvgJTd6xAMmotEno2kJpjZndVY9Rb71
thefussydutchman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


BTC- Its not a bubble.


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 08:37:39 PM
 #7

GUIminer works fine
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!