Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 06:02:47 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Will my 850W PSU power 5970 + 5870 + 5870?  (Read 1345 times)
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 05:11:15 PM
 #1

I just bought a Corsair AX850 last weekend and I just ordered a new 5970.  My question is, will my PSU be able to handle my 5970 plus two 5870s?

Mousepotato
1481047367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047367
Reply with quote  #2

1481047367
Report to moderator
1481047367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047367
Reply with quote  #2

1481047367
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481047367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047367
Reply with quote  #2

1481047367
Report to moderator
1481047367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047367
Reply with quote  #2

1481047367
Report to moderator
haploid23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile WWW
August 25, 2011, 07:03:50 PM
 #2

it should, but it'll be very close

dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
August 25, 2011, 07:11:47 PM
 #3

theres only one way to find out but most likely youll need to use your old psu too. there are youtube vids how to wire 2 psu's together its pretty simple

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 07:12:43 PM
 #4

If it wasn't a corsair I'd say no. Since it is maybe. I'm pretty sure the graphics cards alone will take up about 700 watts maybe more.
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 07:39:58 PM
 #5

theres only one way to find out but most likely youll need to use your old psu too. there are youtube vids how to wire 2 psu's together its pretty simple

Damn, I haven't even sent my old PSU back to Thermaltake yet.  Oh well, I still have a few days before the 5970 gets here.  Maybe I can just buy a cheapo 300-400W PSU to supplement my main one in the mean time.

Mousepotato
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 09:34:30 PM
 #6

Maybe I can just buy a cheapo 300-400W PSU to supplement my main one in the mean time.

That's a wise idea regardless of your situation.  I'm going to pick up a spare just for that inevitable 'the PSU is down' moment.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
August 25, 2011, 11:46:30 PM
 #7

For a low power supplemental PSU I'd go with the low-cost Corsair CX500 or CX600. They're pretty cheap (especially if on promo) but not dirt cheap like some junk supplies. The thing is you know it's going to work well and it's great for starting a new system that you haven't got all the cards for yet.

If you do be sure to get the V2 version as it's a better rated newer design. Right now the CX500 is $35 with 10% coupon code and with rebate at newegg but I recall somewhere it being said they've gone as low as $15 at one time.

ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
August 25, 2011, 11:57:12 PM
 #8

If they aren't overvolted... I'd say "yes, but".
The AX850 is a pretty good PSU, just look at JGs review Wink
OCed 5870 at stock V is 200-220W, like 180 with mem @ 300
OCed 5970 at stock V is ~300W, about 270 with mem @ 300
Stock wattage is ~ the same as OCed with underclocked mem.
So that's < 700W load on a PSU rated for 840W continous on 12V.
now, theres the "but" part... simple, I wouldn't want to run a PSU at > 80% rated 24/7 for months.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 01:23:58 AM
 #9

I have such a setup, about 620 W total measured from wall, no voltage overclocking, 5870 running at 900 Mhz, 5970 running at 750/730Mhz, mem all 300Mhz

Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 11:13:15 PM
 #10

Apologies for bumping an old thread (well, sorta old anyway) but I've been running my two 5870s + single 5970 for a couple weeks now without any problem.  Power at the wall reads right at 850W +/- a few Watts but I have that issue where my CPU is pegged at 100% usage when I'm mining, so I'm guessing that's drawing a few watts.

So anyway at lunch today I went and bought a new Corsair AX1200.  It's so square and round and fuzzy and I can pets him Smiley  I'm probably going to return the AX850 and run my rig on the 1200 instead.   So now my question is:  Can I run my two 5870s + 5970 + a 6990 off one AX1200?  I can't seem to find a buyer for my 6990 (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=43682.0) so I'm leaning toward just ripping it open and installing it into my system.

Mousepotato
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 04:57:57 AM
 #11

Apologies for bumping an old thread (well, sorta old anyway) but I've been running my two 5870s + single 5970 for a couple weeks now without any problem.  Power at the wall reads right at 850W +/- a few Watts but I have that issue where my CPU is pegged at 100% usage when I'm mining, so I'm guessing that's drawing a few watts.

So anyway at lunch today I went and bought a new Corsair AX1200.  It's so square and round and fuzzy and I can pets him Smiley  I'm probably going to return the AX850 and run my rig on the 1200 instead.   So now my question is:  Can I run my two 5870s + 5970 + a 6990 off one AX1200?  I can't seem to find a buyer for my 6990 (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=43682.0) so I'm leaning toward just ripping it open and installing it into my system.

I think you can. I am running 3 5970 on my msi 890fxa

thats 6 GPU. I have them OC to 1075v and 825. Anything more is not stable.
My power draw is 1000-1030watts.

I am using cool master silent pro 1200W

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!