Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2019, 03:05:23 PM *
News: Help collect the most notable posts made over the last 10 years.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Poll
Question: What do you use for mining?
windows box that I also use for work/play - 20 (42.6%)
dedicated windows box - 2 (4.3%)
many windows boxes - 3 (6.4%)
linux box that I also use for work/play - 5 (10.6%)
dedicated linux box - 3 (6.4%)
many linux boxes - 8 (17%)
many windows & linux boxes - 4 (8.5%)
other - 2 (4.3%)
Total Voters: 46

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining poll  (Read 1209 times)
comboy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 27, 2011, 08:32:37 PM
 #1

So, how do you mine?

Variance is a bitch!
1574262323
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574262323

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574262323
Reply with quote  #2

1574262323
Report to moderator
1574262323
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574262323

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574262323
Reply with quote  #2

1574262323
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1574262323
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574262323

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574262323
Reply with quote  #2

1574262323
Report to moderator
1574262323
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574262323

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574262323
Reply with quote  #2

1574262323
Report to moderator
Ricochet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 27, 2011, 08:39:30 PM
 #2

I've got my 6-year old Windows desktop sitting here that I rarely use for anything anymore, so it mostly just acts as a print server, file storage, Zumocast server, and now a Bitcoin miner with low priority.  As it's ancient, I only get 700 khash/s, but I'm not paying for the electricity so it's essentially free money.

I've also got my laptop here that I use for work/play, and I'll switch on a GPU or CPU miner if I'm not doing anything with it at the moment, but only one thread so I don't prematurely cook the CPU to death.  In all honesty with the latest difficulty change, I'm probably going to stop mining on the laptop entirely once I get my next payout. 
ribuck
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1006


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 09:16:13 PM
 #3

I mine on the Linux box that I use for everything else too.

I bought a 5870 for it (322 MHash/sec) which purrs away quietly and is trouble-free, except for the need to reinstall the ATI driver every time I update the Linux kernel.

I also tried mining on my N900 phone just for the fun of it (130 kHash/sec) but of course I never won a block.
theGECK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 411
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 27, 2011, 09:23:32 PM
 #4

I mine on the Linux box that I use for everything else too.

I bought a 5870 for it (322 MHash/sec) which purrs away quietly and is trouble-free, except for the need to reinstall the ATI driver every time I update the Linux kernel.

I also tried mining on my N900 phone just for the fun of it (130 kHash/sec) but of course I never won a block.

Your phone is 1/2 the hash rate of one computer I routinely use. That's both amazing (for you) and sad (for me).

Use my referral codes for Bitcoin faucets and I'll send you 25% of my referral bonus - Win/Win! PM for details on all sites available or use one of the links here.

FreeBitco.in | FreeDoge.co.in
ribuck
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1006


View Profile
February 27, 2011, 09:32:08 PM
 #5

Your phone is 1/2 the hash rate of one computer I routinely use. That's both amazing (for you) and sad (for me).

At the current difficulty, my phone should generate one block every 58 years. That's amazing, but not amazing enough!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!