Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:32:56 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mandatory transaction fee?  (Read 961 times)
Strom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 02:18:11 PM
 #1

I was running an old bitcoin client from february or something, but decided to update today (0.3.24-beta). Then I sent some bitcoins, and I have transaction fee set at 0.00.

Then I get this:
Code:
Debit: -25.99
Transaction fee: -0.00133919
Net amount: -25.99133919

Are transaction fees mandatory now? How is the amount calculated? It would also be nice if the send coins dialog warned me of this fee BEFORE I press send.

Donations: 1yR1bEDbF5YJAfwJSyi7vDm8S9mAf9KA6
1480869176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869176
Reply with quote  #2

1480869176
Report to moderator
1480869176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869176
Reply with quote  #2

1480869176
Report to moderator
1480869176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869176
Reply with quote  #2

1480869176
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480869176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869176
Reply with quote  #2

1480869176
Report to moderator
the founder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Bitcoin


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2011, 02:41:05 PM
 #2

Honestly man that's a very very very tiny transaction fee...    regardless it shouldn't have behaved that way if it's set for zero then it needs to be zero.


Bitcoin RSS App / Bitcoin Android App / Bitcoin Webapp http://www.ounce.me  Say thank you here:  1HByHZQ44LUCxxpnqtXDuJVmrSdrGK6Q2f
Meatpile
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 05:35:27 PM
 #3

Wahhhh I payed a tenth of a penny!!!

But I guess if it was a surprise $10 it would be a different matter... That is weird that it got added without your consent
cepler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 06:18:27 PM
 #4

Wahhhh I payed a tenth of a penny!!!

Actually 10x that, a whole penny at current exchange rate of $9/BTC.
Prattler
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 192


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 06:24:25 PM
 #5

I was running an old bitcoin client from february or something, but decided to update today (0.3.24-beta). Then I sent some bitcoins, and I have transaction fee set at 0.00.

Then I get this:
Code:
Debit: -25.99
Transaction fee: -0.00133919
Net amount: -25.99133919

Are transaction fees mandatory now? How is the amount calculated? It would also be nice if the send coins dialog warned me of this fee BEFORE I press send.
That's a bug in the 0.3.24 client and I believe it has been already fixed.
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 06:24:46 PM
 #6

Did you have >= 26.00 balance in your wallet at that time?
If yes... that's very odd (and worthy of further investigation).
If no... known bug (client throws away sub-cent change as fee if it can't add another input to make the change >= 0.01), will be fixed in 0.3.25.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
Strom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 09:33:06 PM
 #7

Did you have >= 26.00 balance in your wallet at that time?
No, 25.99133919 was the total balance.

Donations: 1yR1bEDbF5YJAfwJSyi7vDm8S9mAf9KA6
silverchair
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 05:57:04 AM
 #8

I believe there's always a fee in every transaction.

Hey Guys! WWW.FREEBITCOINS.ORG introduces "Epic December Contest" where you can Win Sweet Casascius Coins !!!
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 05:59:17 AM
 #9

I believe there's always a fee in every transaction.

No. You can set it up to send a transaction, but will have to wait for the person who finds the blocks to accept the transaction as-is without the fee.
From what I've gathered...unless, I've lost the concept of transaction fees.

Kansattica
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Don't get eaten by wolves!


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2011, 03:42:19 AM
 #10

The transaction fees are mostly to prevent tiny transactions from flooding the system. Larger transations and/or rounder numbers (1 BTC usually) don't incur mandatory transaction fees.

Shocking, obligatory charity code:
1Gimmiec4KSrcKR3t6xoReJd4rNGt8zM58

Free BTC every hour:
http://mycryptcoin.com/?rid=1CccBJE7BCTJEvRN9Uxfgwbr11fSaUvjFe

And why not free Bitcoins?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=83057

Great (read: best) old computer games for BTC:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=85347.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!