Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2017, 05:09:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin not connecting  (Read 4990 times)
Pietro
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 10:29:13 AM
 #1

I have mac osx 10.6.6
I am using bitcoin 0.3.20.1 BETA
and I am working from an office, behind a firewall.

Maybe not surprinsingly I cannot connect.

1) which port if bitcoin using?

2) is that the port in the settings?


I can ask the helpdesk to open up a port for me, but I have to be specific. I asked them to open up a port time ago for another program, so now without the other program working I tried to set up bitcoin toward that port by changing the number in the settings, but it didn't work. What am I doing wrong?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495559345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495559345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495559345
Reply with quote  #2

1495559345
Report to moderator
1495559345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495559345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495559345
Reply with quote  #2

1495559345
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 04:22:06 PM
 #2

I tried to set up bitcoin toward that port by changing the number in the settings, but it didn't work.

Bitcoin doesn't have an option to change its own port. Possibly by doing this you told Bitcoin to use a proxy, which would cause you to be unable to connect (since you don't actually have a proxy).

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Pietro
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 04:49:24 PM
 #3

Thanks for the reply. No my bitcoin does not work regardless if I ask "him" to go through a proxy or I ask "him" not to.

Interesting to know that it is not possible to change the bitcoin port. So, maybe, if I were told what the port was I could tell the helpdesk to keep that port open. Also is it the same port that works to receive and to send?


Thanks.
Pietro
Neereus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 28, 2011, 09:04:55 PM
 #4

Port: 8333
From: http://www.bitcoin.org/faq

Donate (even 0.01 BTC) to my Robot Fund:
18jXUmXEz3c8Ji3SqZMwGE6PYY3V7qyQ86
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!