Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:39:47 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Do I need xfire bridges  (Read 1218 times)
ChrisLandin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 671


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 08:13:08 AM
 #1

How do all.

Currently im running guiminer on windows 7 and on a vista machine.

To get my cards to show up in CCC I have to use the xfire bridges on my 5800 series cards.

Does xfire slow down your hash rate Huh

I have 4 x 5850's and 1 x 5870 and I currently pull around 1.7ghash from them all.

Unfortunately I screwed up when I tried to unlock afterburner to allow for unofficial overclocking and whatever I do now I cant get afterburner to work again even with a clean install of it so im stuck at the max oc CCC will allow Embarrassed


Is there another way for me to oc my cards as ive seen that people are posting some wicked clocks on here with similiar cards and I want a piece of the action

Cheers
1481305187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305187
Reply with quote  #2

1481305187
Report to moderator
1481305187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305187
Reply with quote  #2

1481305187
Report to moderator
1481305187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305187
Reply with quote  #2

1481305187
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
indio007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 08:16:27 AM
 #2

xfire slows mining down like 1%-3%. There is no benefit to using it.

You can try Trixx instead of Afterburner to overclock.
ChrisLandin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 671


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 08:17:44 AM
 #3

Ok thanks.

If I do away with xfire will I need to make those dummy plugs and if so how do I do it?

Trixx will only work with shappire cards right?
SMOKEU
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 08:52:43 AM
 #4

Download the latest drivers from AMD and you shouldn't need dummy plugs. Trixx works with many different types of cards. You can leave the Crossfire bridge connected and just disable Crossfire in CCC. Enabling Crossfire will slow your hash rate by much more than just 1-3%.
ChrisLandin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 671


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 09:40:14 AM
 #5

Cheers guys. I did just that and it works great Smiley

Next question, whats a reasonable oc on a 5850 at stock and a 5870 at stock? Or to put it another way whats the average hash rate I should be trying to achieve???
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 10:02:36 AM
 #6

Cheers guys. I did just that and it works great Smiley

Next question, whats a reasonable oc on a 5850 at stock and a 5870 at stock? Or to put it another way whats the average hash rate I should be trying to achieve???

5850 = 400-420 MH/s
5870 = 435-460 MH/s


Mousepotato
ChrisLandin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 671


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 01:10:05 PM
 #7

Cheers guys. I did just that and it works great Smiley

Next question, whats a reasonable oc on a 5850 at stock and a 5870 at stock? Or to put it another way whats the average hash rate I should be trying to achieve???

5850 = 400-420 MH/s
5870 = 435-460 MH/s



Cheers.

So around what core speed would I be looking for?
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
August 28, 2011, 08:41:38 PM
 #8

Cheers guys. I did just that and it works great Smiley

Next question, whats a reasonable oc on a 5850 at stock and a 5870 at stock? Or to put it another way whats the average hash rate I should be trying to achieve???

5850 = 400-420 MH/s
5870 = 435-460 MH/s



Cheers.

So around what core speed would I be looking for?

You won't see those speeds until you hit around the 1 GHz mark. My 5870 was just over 471 @ 1015 core / 330 memory. There is generally a formula to calculate how many mhash you can do given a certain amount of stream processors and core speed on VLIW4 cards.
1 stream processor @ 1 MHz will do about 290 hashes/sec, so just scale up from there. 5830's have 1120 stream processors, 5850's have 1440, and 5870's have 1600.

So take your 5850's, say you want to run at 950 core.
290 hash/sec x 1440 processors x 950 core = 396,720,000 hashes/sec or 396.72 mhash/sec.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!